Archive

Photo: Anika Büssemeier © Brücke-Museum

Archive

Friendship – Network – Exchange: Artistic Influences
Interactive Exhibition Tour

What does friendship mean to you? Which contacts are important for you? And how do you express that in pictures and presents? Berlin-based painter Max Kaus (1881–1977) was a close friend of the Brücke artists.

The students were encouraged to find creative ways of expressing friendship in the exhibition Max Kaus. Among Friends and talked about similarities and differences between Max Kaus and the Brücke using various practical exercises.

Nursery, primary school, section I, section II
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

For Kids! Game of cards

The set of cards could guide you through the exhibition. You were free to draw, tell stories, and express your ideas and observations. Each card refered to a specific work of art or an aspect of the exhibition.

Archive

It fits! Frames and Pictures by the Brücke
Interactive Exhibition Tour

November 2019 – March 2020

What would a painting be without a frame? How do artwork and frame fit together?

The Brücke artists have themselves created and commissioned frames for their paintings. Together we examined pictures and frames in the exhibition Never Apart and looked for Expressionist characteristics. Colours, shapes and materials played a major role.

Nursery, primary school
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

Framed and exhibited: What are the limits of art?
Interactive Exhibition Tour

November 2019 – March 2020

The frame limits the painting and thus clearly defines the boundaries of the artwork – doesn’t it?

Together, the students set out through the exhibition Never Apart in search of limitations and questioned the social framing of Brücke art, both then and now.

Primary school, section I, section II
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

Thinking art didactics another way – Museum
University collaboration

Duration: October 2019 – March 2020

Together with the Institute for Art Didactics and Aesthetic Education of the Berlin University of the Arts, forms of art didactics in connection with the out-of-school learning location museum, which is particularly important for art teaching, were discussed and experienced in this seminar.

In particular, art-didactic perspectives were designed and discussed on the basis of individual approaches to the museum as a place of (self-)education.

Berlin University of the Arts: Conrad Rodenberg
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Archive

New presentation: The Brücke-Museum. Concepts for an up-to-date collection presentation
University collaboration

Duration: October 2019 – März 2020

Since 2017, Brücke-Museum has been under a new management. The view on the in-house artists Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Otto Mueller and their colleagues is to be updated and anchored in the present. With this in mind, the museum is striving for close cooperation with scientists and artists. The first temporary exhibitions already show that many research questions have remained unanswered after the stylistic development of Brücke Expressionism had been in the foreground since the museum was founded in 1967.

Out of this desideratum, the project seminar was conceived with practical relevance to museum activities as its focus. The participants were introduced to the history of Brücke art as well as to curatorial work with museum collections and international discourses by Meike Hoffmann (Kunsthistorisches Institut, Freie Universität Berlin), Lisa Marei Schmidt (Director, Brücke-Museum) and Daniela Bystron (Curator of Outreach, Brücke-Museum). On this basis, the participants developed concepts for the presentation and mediation of individual groups of works from the collection of Brücke-Museum.

Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Meike Hoffmann
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron, Lisa Marei Schmidt

 

Archive

For Tomorrow. Artistic Interventions in the Museum
University collaboration

Duration: April–July 2019

Questioning the Canon and Codes, Learning and Forgetting 

The aim of the seminar project was to examine experimental artistic approaches to art education and communication, extending from modernism to contemporary art. Participants analysed how different perspectives and cultural experiences of various networks and local neighbourhoods can be embedded in education through the use of society’s cultural canon. Building on this questioning, participants realised their own creative ideas for an artistic intervention at Brücke-Museum based on their specialist field.

Conclusion with artistic interventions at Brücke-Museum: 10 July 2019, 5–9 pm

Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee: Prof. Mona Jas
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Archive

Museum's garden redesigned
School project

Duration: April – June 2019

The exhibition Escape into Art? explored the scope for action in a dictatorship. During the war years, the artists withdrew from the city and found shelter in the countryside. This retreat into nature meant distance, peace and relaxation for them. What is it like today? Where do you retreat to when you are not feeling well? Are there places in nature where you feel good? And how would the garden and the museum have to be designed to make you enjoy being there?

Together with two artists (photography and film), the students explored the museum’s garden and developed their own ideas for its transformation. Afterwards they made short filmson personally chosen topics.

Hermann-Ehlers-Schule, Steglitz: Class 7c, Agnes Rohde und Arif Ulu
Script writer: Chris Wittenborn
Photographer: Henrike Hannemann
Programme Kulturagenten: Kristin Reinhardt
Project management: Nora Hogrefe

Sponsored by the programme Kulturagenten for creative schools Berlin.

Archive

Excluded: Who makes the decisions here?
Interactive Exhibition Tour

April – August 2019

How does it feel to be excluded? Who decides who belongs and who doesn’t? The Brücke artists could no longer work as artists in National Socialism and their pictures were no longer allowed to be shown.

Together with the children, we were reflecting in the context of the exhibition Escape into Art? about questions like: What role do exclusion and discrimination play in their everyday lives today? Which solutions can be worked out together? The children explored the exhibition and talked about relevant questions of power, freedom and resistance in their everyday lives.

Primary school, section I
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

Power Sharing: Artistic Strategies of Resistance
Interactive Exhibition Tour

April – August 2019

How and where can I change my attitude, my actions and my environment in order to work together with others for a fair society? How can I defend myself against discrimination? How do I find a productive way of dealing with my own privileges?

Dealing with the fate and room to manoeuvre of the Brücke artists under National Socialism in the exhibition Escape into Art? provided an opportunity for discussion about the present and about social power relations. In short exercises and discussions, the students developed ideas for their own (artistic) strategies of resistance.

Section I, section II
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

“I’ve got to have it!” A Passion for Collecting
Interactive Exhibition Tour

December 2018 – March 2019

What do you collect? Why? What makes people want to collect art? What do museums collect? And what is not collected?

Swiss collector Eberhard W. Kornfeld owns a huge number of artworks, which were being shown in the exhibition Ernst Ludwig Kirchner. The Swiss Years at Brücke-Museum. As part of this interactive tour, the children addressed the question of what is so fascinating about collecting. Using illustrative material, they identified the qualities and arrangements of collections and applied these to the exhibition.

Nursery, primary school, section I
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

“Early – late? Applied – free? Good – bad?” Appraisals and terms used in art history
Interactive Exhibition Tour

December 2018 – March 2019

How can art be evaluated? What belongs in a museum and what doesn’t? Who makes these decisions? Students worked together in the exibition Ernst Ludwig Kirchner. The Swiss Years to discuss the evaluation criteria of artworks and through this dialogue they developed their own approach to the institutionalised museum. We ask, what criteria are important when it comes to considering artworks today? And how might they have changed over time?

Sections I and II
Subjects: Art, history, social sciences

Archive

“Sometimes Unanswerable” Student-Centred Research at Brücke-Museum
School collaboration

Duration: September 2018 – August 2019

Of what relevance is the artists’ group Brücke today? How can these artists and their work relate to the everyday life of young people? Are there social and political analogies to be made with the present? How can Brücke art be recontextualised in today’s Berlin? What previously unexplored perspectives can be found in the museum? And how can young people become involved and contribute their questions, ideas and points of view to the museum and its work?

For this project, the participants used a process-oriented, student-centred, participatory approach which is closely aligned to the museum’s own practice: conducting research, propose questions, seeking methods and strategies to suggest possible answers, inviting experts and holding interviews. Sometimes Unanswerable deliberately began with asking young people personal questions oriented related to their biographical and cultural backgrounds, personal interests and tendencies. Here, museum staff, teachers and experts invited by the students themselves gave support in exploring research areas of their choice.  

Sometimes Unanswerable focused on questions but left the answers open – there is no right or wrong. This approach was based on the firm conviction that learning starts with the act of questioning. The particular aim of the project was to supplement the institutions of the museum and the school (which have traditionally stood for canonised knowledge) with more fluid and critical concepts of knowledge. Thus, we put faith in young people to take their questions seriously and to explore their own possible answers using creative strategies.

Kurt-Tucholsky-Schule, Pankow: Grit Wöhlert
Project management: Daniela Bystron, Nora Hogrefe
Artists: Karen Winzer and Markus Strieder, supported by Patrick Lindhof (film) and Anika Büssemeier (photography)

Sponsored by Berlin Project Funds for Cultural Education.

Archive

How time flies by!
Interactive Exhibition Tour

September – December 2018

While playing, time often flies by and while waiting it drags on forever. What’s a long time ago? How long is 100 years? With the exhibition 1913: The Brücke and Berlin, we looked back to the year 1913 from the perspective of the Brücke artists. How do we currently view the time back then and our own present? With drawing and performance exercises we made leaps back and forth in time, we compared, supplemented and played with time.

Primary school, Section I
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences

Archive

Present Day-Check: 1913 & 2018
Interactive Exhibition Tour

September – December 2018

More than 100 years ago, the Brücke artists portrayed their everyday life in the cafés, variety theatres and streets of Berlin. They searched for new ways of expression and values in everyday life and art. How do we today look back on those times? And how do we perceive our own present? Based on the works of the Brücke artists and the year 1913, the students discussed and researched the social changes and expectations we are subject to in comparison to then. They used various artistic means to translate their thoughts on this into everyday scenes of today.

Section I, section II
Subjects: Art, history, social sciences, german studies

Archive

Cosmopolitan Berlin
Fellowship

Duration: May 2018 – May 2019

In relation to today’s global migration and the ever-increasing threats to artistic freedom, Berlin offers a new home to many artists and cultural workers who are at risk. The initiative Cosmopolitan Berlin, established by the Senate of Berlin, supports artists every year with a fellowship. Brücke-Museum has been working with the artist Kamal Sallat, who explored the artwork The Fishing Boat by Max Pechstein (1913). He was recontextualising this very important work held in Brücke-Museum’s collection, offering a very personal response by producing a series of paintings and a documentary film. At Brücke-Museum’s summer party on 11 August 2019, the film In a boat was screened for the public.

Fellow: Kamal Sallat
Brücke-Museum: Lisa Marei Schmidt, Daniela Bystron

Archive

Curating Exhibitions. Focus: Sexism and Racism
University collaboration

Duration: April 2018–July 2018

For the first time, Brücke-Museum has been working with the Department of Museum Studies at the University of Applied Sciences, Berlin. Students on this course were introduced to fundamental ideas and skills of curating through both theory and practice. They were given insights into curating, programme development, various disciplinary approaches to collecting and exhibiting, the development of exhibition design ideas and narratives as well as the means of conveying information. In small groups, the students conceived an intervention in the presentation of the museum’s collection which takes a critical approach to the themes of sexism and racism.

University of Applied Sciences, Berlin (Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft): Prof. Susan Kamel
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Archiv

Foto: Anika Büssemeier © Brücke-Museum

Archiv

Freundschaft – Netzwerk – Austausch: künstlerische Einflüsse
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

Was bedeutet Freundschaft für dich? Welche Kontakte sind dir wichtig? Und wie drückst du das in Bildern und Geschenken aus? Der Berliner Maler Max Kaus (1881–1977) war ein enger Freund der Brücke-Künstler.

Die Schüler*innen fanden in der Ausstellung Max Kaus. Unter Freunden kreative Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten zum Thema Freundschaft und sprachen anhand verschiedener Übungen über Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen Max Kaus und der Brücke.

Kita, GS, Sek I, Sek II
Fächer: Kunst, Deutsch, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

Für Kinder! Kartenspiel

Das Kartenset begleitete dich bei deinem Rundgang durch die Ausstellungen. Du konntest zeichnen, Geschichten erfinden und hattest Platz für deine Ideen und Beobachtungen. Jede Karte bezog sich auf ein bestimmtes Kunstwerk oder einen Raum in der Ausstellung.

Archiv

Und wie das passt! Rahmen und Bilder der Brücke
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

November 2019 – März 2020

Was wäre ein Gemälde ohne Rahmen? Und wie passen Werk und Rahmen zusammen?

Die Brücke-Künstler haben selbst Rahmen für ihre Bilder angefertigt und bauen lassen. Gemeinsam betrachteten wir Bilder und Rahmen in der Ausstellung Unzertrennlich und suchten darin Merkmale des Expressionismus. Dabei spielten Farben, Formen und Materialien eine große Rolle.

Kita, Grundschule
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

Eingerahmt und ausgestellt: Welche Grenzen hat die Kunst?
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

November 2019 – März 2020

Der Rahmen begrenzt das Gemälde und steckt somit die Grenzen des Kunstwerks deutlich ab – oder?

Gemeinsam gingen die Schüler*innen in der Ausstellung Unzertrennlich auf die Suche nach Begrenzungen und hinterfragten auch gesellschaftliche Rahmungen der Brücke-Kunst damals wie heute.

Grundschule, Sek I, Sek II
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

Kunstdidaktik anders denken – Museum
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: Oktober 2019 – März 2020

Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Kunstdidaktik und Ästhetische Bildung der UdK Berlin wurden in diesem Seminar Formen der Kunstdidaktik in Verbindung mit dem für den Kunstunterricht besonders bedeutenden außerschulischen Lernort Museum besprochen und erfahrbar gemacht.

Im Speziellen wurden anhand von zu erforschenden individuellen Zugängen zum Museum als (Selbst-)Bildungsort kunstdidaktische Perspektiven entworfen und diskutiert.

Universität der Künste: Conrad Rodenberg
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Archiv

Neu vorgestellt: Das Brücke-Museum. Konzepte für eine aktuelle Sammlungspräsentation
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: Oktober 2019 – März 2020

Seit 2017 steht das Brücke Museum unter einer neuen Leitung. Zukünftig soll der Blick auf die Hauskünstler Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Otto Mueller und deren Kollegen aktualisiert und in der Gegenwart verankert werden. Hierfür strebt das Museum eine enge Kooperation mit Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen an. Schon die ersten Sonderausstellungen zeigen, dass noch viele Forschungsfragen offengeblieben sind, nachdem seit Gründung des Museums im Jahr 1967 die stilistische Entwicklung des Brücke-Expressionismus im Vordergrund stand.

Aus diesem Desiderat heraus wurde das Projektseminar nah an der Praxis musealer Tätigkeitsfelder konzipiert. Die Teilnehmer*innen wurden in die Geschichte der Brücke-Kunst sowie in das kuratorische Arbeiten mit Museumsbeständen und in die internationalen Diskurse dazu durch Meike Hoffmann (Kunsthistorisches Institut, Freie Universität Berlin), Lisa Marei Schmidt (Direktorin, Brücke-Museum) und Daniela Bystron (Kuratorin für Outreach, Brücke-Museum) eingeführt. Auf dieser Grundlage entwickelten die Teilnehmer*innen Konzepte zur Präsentation und Vermittlung einzelner Werkgruppen aus der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums.

Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Meike Hoffmann
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron, Lisa Marei Schmidt

Archiv

Für morgen. Künstlerische Interventionen im Museum
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: April–Juli 2019

Fragen zum Kanon, zu Codes und zum (Ver-)Lernen

Ziel des Seminar-Projekts war die gemeinsame Untersuchung künstlerisch-experimenteller Ansätze der (Ver-)Mittlung im Kontext zeitgenössischer Kunst und der klassischen Moderne. Dabei sollte analysiert werden, ob und wie unterschiedliche Perspektiven und kulturelle Erfahrungen verschiedener Netzwerke und lokaler Nachbarschaften in Vermittlungsprozessen über den kulturellen Kanon einer Gesellschaft eingebracht werden können. Daran anknüpfend realisierten die Teilnehmer*innen aus ihrer jeweiligen fachlichen Expertise eigene künstlerische Entwürfe für eine  Intervention im Brücke-Museum.

Abschluss mit künstlerischen Interventionen im Brücke-Museum: 10. Juli 2019, 17–21 Uhr 

Kunsthochschule Weißensee: Prof. Mona Jas
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Archiv

Museumsgarten neugestaltet
Schulprojekt

Laufzeit: April – Juni 2019

Die Ausstellung Flucht in die Bilder? fragte nach Handlungsspielräumen in einer Diktatur. Die Künstler haben sich in den Kriegsjahren des Nationalsozialismus aus der Stadt zurückgezogen und sind auf dem Land untergekommen. Dieser Rückzug in die Natur bedeutete für sie Abstand, Ruhe und Entspannung. Wie ist das heute? Wohin zieht ihr euch zurück, wenn es euch nicht gut geht? Gibt es Orte in der Natur, an denen ihr euch wohl fühlt? Und wie müssten der Garten und das Museum gestaltet sein, damit ihr euch dort gerne aufhaltet?

Gemeinsam mit zwei Künstlerinnen (Fotografie und Film) erkundeten die Jugendlichen den Museumsgarten und entwarfen eigene Ideen zur Umgestaltung. Im Anschluss entstanden Kurzfilme zu persönlich gewählten Themen.

Hermann-Ehlers-Schule, Steglitz: Klasse 7c, Agnes Rohde und Arif Ulu
Drehbuchautorin: Chris Wittenborn
Fotografin: Henrike Hannemann
Kulturagentin: Kristin Reinhardt
Projektleitung und Umsetzung: Nora Hogrefe

Gefördert durch Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen Berlin.

Archiv

Ausgegrenzt: Wer entscheidet hier?
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

April – August 2019

Wie fühlt es sich an, ausgeschlossen zu werden? Wer bestimmt, wer dazu gehört und wer nicht? Die Brücke-Künstler konnten im Nationalsozialismus nicht mehr als Künstler arbeiten und ihre Bilder durften nicht mehr gezeigt werden.

Mit den Schüler*innen wurde im Rahmen der Ausstellung Flucht in die Bilder? überlegt: Welche Rolle spielen Ausgrenzungen und Diskriminierung in ihrem Alltag heute? Welche Lösungen können dafür gemeinsam erarbeitet werden? Die Schüler*innen erkundeten die Ausstellung und sprachen über relevante Fragen von Macht, Freiheit und Widerstand in ihrem Alltag.

Grundschule, Sek I
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

Power Sharing: Künstlerische Strategien des Widerstands
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

April – August 2019

Wie und wo kann ich meine Haltung, mein Handeln und meine Umwelt verändern, um mich gemeinsam mit anderen für eine gerechte Gesellschaft einzusetzen? Wie kann ich mich gegen Diskriminierung wehren? Wie finde ich einen produktiven Umgang mit den eigenen Privilegien?

Die Beschäftigung mit den Schicksalen und Handlungsspielräumen der Brücke-Künstler im Nationalsozialismus im Rahmen der Ausstellung Flucht in die Bilder? bot Anlass zur Diskussion über die Gegenwart und gesellschaftliche Machtverhältnisse. In kurzen Übungen und Diskussionen entwickelten die Schüler*innen Ideen für eigene (künstlerische) Strategien des Widerstands.

Sek I, Sek II
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

„Das muss ich haben!“ Sammeln als Leidenschaft
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

Dezember 2018 – März 2019

Was sammelst du? Warum? Wie kommen Menschen dazu, Kunst zu sammeln? Was sammeln Museen? Doch was wird eigentlich nicht gesammelt?

Der Schweizer Sammler Eberhard W. Kornfeld besitzt eine große Zahl an Kunstwerken, die im Brücke-Museum in der Ausstellung Ernst Ludwig Kirchner. Die Schweizer Jahre gezeigt wurden. In diesem interaktiven Rundgang stellten sich Schüler*innen die Frage, was so faszinierend am Sammeln ist. Anhand von Anschauungsmaterial erarbeiteten sie Eigenschaften und Sortierungen von Sammlungen und wendeten diese auf die Ausstellung an.

Kita, Grundschule, Sek I
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

„Früh – spät? Angewandt – frei? Gut – schlecht?“ Über Bewertungen und Kunstbegriffe
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

Dezember 2018 – März 2019

Wie kann Kunst bewertet werden? Was gehört in ein Museum, und was nicht? Wer trifft diese Entscheidungen? Gemeinsam diskutierten Schüler*innen in der Ausstellung Ernst Ludwig Kirchner. Die Schweizer Jahre die Bewertungskriterien von Kunstwerken und erarbeiteten im Dialog eine eigene Herangehensweise an den institutionalisierten Museumsraum. Welche Kriterien sind heute bei der Betrachtung von Kunstwerken wichtig? Und wie haben sie sich im Lauf der Zeit vielleicht verändert?

Sek I , Sek II
Fächer: Kunst, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

„Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar“ Schüler*innen-zentrierte Forschung im Brücke-Museum
Schulkooperation

Laufzeit: September 2018 – August 2019

Was hat die Künstlergruppe Brücke mit Heute zu tun? Was haben deren Werke mit dem Alltag Jugendlicher zu tun? Gibt es soziale, politische Analogien zur Gegenwart? Wie lässt sich die Brücke-Kunst in Berlin neu verorten? Welche bisher nicht vorhandenen Perspektiven lassen sich im Museum ergänzen? Wie können sich Jugendliche ins Museum mit ihren Fragen, Ideen und Sichtweisen einmischen?

Für diese und weitere Fragen wählten die Teilnehmenden ein prozessorientiertes, schüler*innen-zentriertes, partizipatives Format, das der Museumspraxis sehr nahe steht: Forschung betreiben, Fragen stellen, Methoden und Strategien einer möglichen Beantwortung suchen, Expert*innen einladen, Interviews führen. Bewusst stellte Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar die Entwicklung persönlicher Fragen, orientiert an biografischem und kulturellem Background, persönlichen Interessen und Abneigungen an den Anfang. Danach unterstützten Museums-Mitarbeiter*innen, Lehrer*innen und von den Schüler*innen selbst eingeladene Expert*innen die Forschungsfragen der Schüler*innen.  

Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar nahm Fragen in den Fokus, und ließ deren Beantwortung offen – jenseits von richtig und falsch. Dahinter steckte die Überzeugung, dass Lernen mit Fragen beginnt. Insbesondere die Institutionen Museum und Schule, die traditionell für kanonisiertes Wissen stehen, sollten vor einem fließenden, kritischen Wissensbegriff befragt werden. So wurde Jugendlichen Vertrauen gegeben, ihre Fragen ernst zu nehmen und ihnen mit eigenen, kreativen Strategien nachzugehen.

Kurt-Tucholsky-Schule, Pankow: Grit Wöhlert
Projektleitung: Daniela Bystron, Nora Hogrefe
Künstler*innen: Karen Winzer und Markus Strieder, unterstützt von Patrick Lindhof (Film) und Anika Büssemeier (Fotografie)

Gefördert durch den Projektfonds für kulturelle Bildung Berlin

Archiv

Wie die Zeit vergeht!
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

September – Dezember 2018

Beim Spielen verfliegt uns oft die Zeit und beim Warten zieht sie sich ewig hin. Was ist eigentlich lange her? Wie lang sind 100 Jahre? Wir blickten mit der Ausstellung 1913: Die Brücke und Berlin in das Jahr 1913 aus der Sicht der Brücke-Künstler. Wie schauen wir jetzt auf die Zeit von damals und auf unsere eigene Gegenwart? Mit zeichnerischen und performativen Übungen machten wir Zeitsprünge hin und her, wir verglichen, ergänzten und spielten mit der Zeit.

Grundschule, Sek. I
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften

Archiv

Gegenwarts-Check: 1913 & 2018
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

September – Dezember 2018

Vor über 100 Jahren porträtierten die Brücke-Künstler ihren Alltag in den Cafés, Varietés und Straßen Berlins. Sie suchten nach neuen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten und Werten in Alltag und Kunst. Wie schauen wir heute auf die Zeit von damals zurück? Und wie nehmen wir unsere eigene Gegenwart wahr? Ausgehend von den Arbeiten der Brücke-Künstler und dem Jahr 1913 diskutierten und erforschten die Schüler*innen in der Ausstellung, welchen gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen und Erwartungen wir im Vergleich zu damals unterworfen sind. Ihre Gedanken dazu setzten sie mit verschiedenen künstlerischen Mitteln in Alltagszenen von heute um.

Sek. I, Sek. II
Fächer: Kunst, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften, Deutsch

Archiv

Weltoffenes Berlin
Stipendium

Laufzeit: Mai 2018 – Mai 2019

Berlin bietet vor dem Hintergrund globaler Migrationsbewegungen und zunehmender Bedrohung künstlerischer Freiheit vielen gefährdeten Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden eine neue Heimat. Die vom Berliner Senat ins Leben gerufene Initiative Weltoffenes Berlin fördert Künstler*innen jährlich mit einem Stipendium. Das Brücke-Museum arbeitete im Rahmen des Fellowships mit dem Künstler Kamal Sallat zusammen, der sich mit dem Kunstwerk Das Fischerboot von Max Pechstein (1913) auseinandersetzte. Damit kontextualisierte er eine wichtige Arbeit der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums neu und warf einen sehr persönlichen Blick auf dieses Werk.  Im Laufe seines Projektes entstanden ein Malereizyklus und der dokumentarische Film In einem Boot, den Sallat am 11. August 2019 beim Sommerfest des Museums vorführte.

Stipendiat: Kamal Sallat
Brücke-Museum: Lisa Marei Schmidt, Daniela Bystron

Archiv

Kuratieren von Ausstellungen. Fokus: Sexismus und Rassismus
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: April 2018–Juli 2018

Erstmals arbeitete das Brücke-Museum mit dem Studiengang Museologie der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin zusammen. In dem Kurs wurden grundlegende einführende Gedanken und Fertigkeiten des Kuratierens theoretisch und praktisch vermittelt. Die Studierenden erhielten erste Einblicke in das Kuratieren, die Programmkonzeption, unterschiedliche disziplinäre Ansätze des Sammelns und Ausstellens, gestalterische Ideenentwicklung und in die Erarbeitung von Ausstellungsnarrativen sowie Formen der Vermittlung. In Kleingruppen erarbeiteten die Studierenden eine Intervention zur Sammlungspräsentation mit diskriminierungskritischen Ansätzen zu den Themen Sexismus und Rassismus.

Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin: Prof. Susan Kamel
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron