About (VARIOUS ANSWERS)

How do you look at a work of art? What memories and associations does it elicit? What kinds of connections can you make to social themes?

Various Answers is an experimental pilot project that paves the way for different approaches to artworks in the Brücke Museum’s collection. In the online collection, diverse voices introduce individual perspectives on the work—in video, audio, and text formats. A wide variety of questions, topics, and contexts emerge beyond the purview of art-historical disciplines.

Twelve works from the collection were examined in twelve workshops. Four moderators led the workshops and determined their individual areas of focus. They intentionally invited people who possess knowledge and experiences that the museum lacks.

Keywords, questions, and debates emerged through the discussions. On this basis, an editorial team prepared the content for online publication, expanded several participants’ remarks with interviews, and supplemented the material with commentaries and overriding topics.

The contributions are integrated into the collection online as visual interventions that disrupt the usual appearance of the website. This visualisation illustrates the experimental character of Various Answers, in which the museum team could test out new ways of disseminating knowledge. Routine museum operations are challenged and expanded in a participatory and emancipatory way.

More

On the idea of Various Answers

Daniela Bystron (curator for outreach, Brücke-Museum) and Judith Kirchner (project leader, Various Answers) discuss the point of departure and idea for Various Answers.

The following questions played a key role: What kind of knowledge is preponderant in an art museum? Who is involved in the production of knowledge and processes of narration?  Which stories, kinds of information, and perspectives are missing? How can content be designed to be as open to multiple perspectives as possible? How can a museum invite participation digitally? And how can a museum listen and learn?

00:00
(Daniela & Judith) Video, 04:37

On the Workshops

The moderators—Marwa Younes Almokbel, Josephine A.V. Deutesfeld, Sandra Ortmann, Dachil Sado—reflect on their conception and facilitation of the focus group workshops.

Twelve digital workshops with up to six participants and allotted three hours each enabled an intensive examination of a piece of art in the Brücke-Museum collection. Spontaneous, intuitive, and personal statements were intentionally collected from participants without additional information or prior (art historical) knowledge. These statements then served as the basis for an exchange with one another. One person from the curatorial team of the Brücke-Museum participated in the role of an active listener.

00:00
(Josephine) Video, 03:11
00:00
(Marwa) Video, 02:30
00:00
(Sandra) Audio, 03:15

(Dachil)
Text

My name is Dachil Sado, and I am a visual artist focusing on performance art. I also work in art mediation.

For Various Answers, I was interested in looking at historical works of art from today’s perspective in conversation with other people to reflect on what these works communicate and the sorts of references they might elicit.

In selecting a work of art from the collection, I opted for a landscape painting. No figures, bodies or human interference are shown here. The topics that interested me the most in the exchange about this work were landscape, color, and painting from a contemporary and artistic perspective. In the focus group we also discussed socially relevant topics like colonial contexts and political implications.

I invited painters and artists to this workshop. They are all familiar with visual and, in some cases, painterly processes. With their various areas of artistic expertise and experiences, I wanted to gain interesting, new, and above all, current insights into the work of Emil Nolde. In my preparation and moderation of the focus group workshop, one of the questions I was concerned with was: what contexts can a landscape painting convey?

With the focus on the work’s painterly and creative aspects, I was very surprised—in a good way—to discover through this exchange how many complex ideological positions can be read into an ostensibly harmless and beautiful painting, and how these reflect the political currents of the time. This was surprising because the discussion dealt with a painting that does not convey a directly political stance or narrative.

More

On Editing the Content

Authors and journalists Sonja Eismann and Josephine Papke speak about the editorial process of Various Answers.

In contrast to the technical language of art historical writing, journalistic texts are more subjective, creative, and accessible. Sonja Eismann and Josephine Papke were especially interested in using contemporary approaches as well as inclusive, non-academic language; here, they report on their selection process and priorities. It was important to them that they convey everyday knowledge, diversity, and multiple perspectives. The idea was not just to deal with explanatory content but to intentionally include associative thoughts, critical commentary, and artistic contributions as well.

00:00
(Josephine & Sonja) Video, 03:35

Topics

Twelve overarching threads of discussion accompany the twelve chosen works. They were developed through conversations between the participants and moderators as well as the editing work of the editorial team. Gathered here are contributions on current, socially relevant topics that loosely connect to the collection but do not explain the works. The content can also be linked to further pieces in the collection not surveyed as a part of this project. The twelve themes are suggestions that try to bring together new perspectives and always remain open to updates and elaboration. 

Works

Twelve works were surveyed within the scope of the pilot project. You can find the overview here and click through the contributions that emerged collaboratively through these twelve workshops. The selections are not representative of the Brücke-Museum collection but rather were chosen by the project team and museum together.

Imprint

Various Answers:Language, Knowledge, Narration

Project lead: Daniela Bystron, Judith Kirchner
Conception and Moderation Workshops: Marwa Younes Almokbel (Das gelbschwarze Trikot, Vor der rosa Wand), Josephine Ansah Valerie Deutesfeld (Artistin, Freundinnen, Im Atelier, Zirkusszene), Judith Kirchner (Sich kämmender Akt), Sandra Ortmann (Liegender Akt vor Spiegel, Nach dem Bade, Rückenakt mit Spiegel und Mann), Dachil Sado (Afrikanisches, Jägers Haus auf Alsen)
Editorial Staff: Sonja Eismann, Josephine Papke
Translations (German, English): Good & Cheap Art Translators
Translations (Arabic): Marwa Younes Almokbel
Proof Reading: Julia Stoff
Technical Production: Sebastian Weise, Marlies Pahlenberg (Assistance)
Administration: Barbara Jerusalem, Julia Schmitt, Ute Kirschbaum
Design: Julia Born, Julia Novitch
Web Development: Systemantics
Assistance CMS: Tabesch Mehrabi
Speaker (Audio: Questions, Associations): Dena Abay, Lamin Leroy Gibba, Hêvîn Tekin

Workshop Participants: Ahmad El Hamidi, Alice Z Jones, Anwar Al Atrash, Athena Solomon B., Auro Orso, Bassel Zoughip, Bettina Keß, Betül, Brigita, Britta, Charlotte Sohst, Christèle Mapuku, ck, Claude Förster, Dani Hasrouni, Dilek, Elena, Emilia, Evelina Reiter, Fabio Auerswald, Fafali Roy Ziga-Abortta, Felicia, Feven, Franziska Achatzi, Frédéric Duval, Icecold Alma, Jamie, Johan, Josephine Ansah Valerie Deutesfeld, Jülia Devies, Juri, Kifan Alkarjousli, Konni Zeidler, L*, Lea Abena Pahl, Lea Malaika Som, Lena Scheiterbauer, Lotte Wintraecken, Maria Diallo, Maria González Leal, Meskerem, Milton Camilo, Miriam Chebaibai Koch, Myriam, Miriam Rainer, Nadine Nzambisa Ngolo, Natascha Anahita Nassir-Shahnian, Princela Biyaa, Rama Alsaman, Ramin Parvin, Rania, Samantha Joy Nyamekye Deutesfeld, Sandra Burkhardt, Sandi, Stephanie Achatzi, Susheela Mahendran, Sydney, Tabesch, Tanya, Viviana, Wanjiru Njehiah, Yemisi Babatola, Yuyu Elmi, Zinaida Sebastiao Lina

Additional Content: A. Rochaun Meadows-Fernandez, Aischa Sane, Anne Graefer, Aya Soika, Christiane Remm, Daddypuss Rex, Dani Hasrouni, Dieter Frey, Dominique Grisard, Elena Schroll, Felix Denk, Isabel Fischer, Johann Voigt, Josephine Papke, Marwa Younes Almokbel, Maria González Leal, Miriam Rainer, Lea Susemichel, Peggy McIntosh, Sandra Burkhardt, Şeyda Kurt, Simbi Schwarz, Sonja Eismann, Thủy-Tiên Nguyễn


The project Various Answers was developed as part of “dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions” of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) with funding by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) through the NEUSTART KULTUR programme.

Über (VARIOUS ANSWERS)

Wie schaust du dir ein Kunstwerk an? Welche Erinnerungen und Assoziationen hast du dazu? Welche Verbindungen kannst du zu gesellschaftlichen Themen herstellen?

Various Answers – unterschiedliche Antworten – ist ein experimentelles Pilotprojekt, das unterschiedliche Zugänge auf die Kunstwerke der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums ermöglicht. Diverse Stimmen sind in der Sammlung Online versammelt, die individuelle Perspektiven auf ein Kunstwerk – als Video, Audio oder Text – eröffnen. Über kunsthistorisches Wissen hinaus, ergeben sich so unterschiedlichste Fragen, Themen und Kontexte.

Zwölf Werke der Sammlung wurden in zwölf Workshops betrachtet. Vier Moderator*innen haben diese Workshops geleitet und eigene inhaltliche Schwerpunkte gesetzt. Bewusst haben sie Personen eingeladen, die über Wissen und Erfahrungen verfügen, die dem Museum fehlen.

In den Gesprächen ergaben sich Stichwörter, Fragen und Debatten. Auf dieser Grundlage bereitete ein Redaktionsteam diese Inhalte für die Online-Veröffentlichung auf, vertiefte einige Aussagen der Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen in Interviews und ergänzte die Inhalte mit Kommentaren oder übergeordneten Themen.

Die Beiträge fügen sich als visuelle Interventionen in die Sammlung Online ein und stören die gewohnte Ansicht der Website. Diese Visualisierung verdeutlicht den experimentellen Charakter von Various Answers, in dem das Museumsteam neue Formen der Wissensvermittlung erproben konnte. Partizipativ und emanzipatorisch werden museale Routinen hinterfragt und erweitert.

Mehr

Zur Idee von Various Answers

Daniela Bystron (Kuratorin für Outreach, Brücke-Museum) und Judith Kirchner (Projektleiterin Various Answers) sprechen über Ausgangslage und Idee von Various Answers.

Dabei spielten vor allem folgende Fragen eine Rolle: Welches Wissen ist in einem Kunstmuseum vorherrschend? Wer ist an der Wissensproduktion und den Narrationen beteiligt? Welche Erzählungen, Informationen und Perspektiven fehlen? Wie können Inhalte möglichst multiperspektivisch gestaltet sein? Wie kann ein Museum digital zu Partizipation einladen? Und wie kann ein Museum zuhören und lernen?

00:00
(Daniela & Judith) Video, 04:37

Über die Workshops

Die Moderator*innen – Marwa Younes Almokbel, Josephine A.V. Deutesfeld, Sandra Ortmann, Dachil Sado – reflektieren über ihre Konzeption und die Leitung der Fokusgruppen-Workshops.

Zwölf digitale Workshops ermöglichten in jeweils drei Stunden mit bis zu sechs Teilnehmer*innen eine intensive Betrachtung eines Kunstwerks aus der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums. Ohne zusätzliche Informationen oder vermitteltes (kunsthistorisches) Vorwissen wurden bewusst spontane, intuitive und persönliche Äußerungen gesammelt und dienten als Grundlage für einen Austausch untereinander. Eine Person aus dem kuratorischen Team des Brücke-Museums hatte die Funktion einer aktiven Zuhörerin.

00:00
(Josephine) Video, 03:11
00:00
(Marwa) Video, 02:30
00:00
(Sandra) Audio, 03:15

(Dachil)
Text

Mein Name ist Dachil Sado, ich bin Bildender Künstler mit dem Schwerpunkt Performance-Kunst. Ein weiteres Arbeitsfeld ist die Vermittlungsarbeit. 

An Various Answers hat mich interessiert, gemeinsam mit anderen Personen historische Kunstwerke aus einer heutigen Sicht anzuschauen und dabei zu reflektieren, was diese Arbeiten kommunizieren und welche Bezüge dazu hergestellt werden könnten. 

Bei der Auswahl eines Kunstwerks aus der Sammlung, habe ich eine Landschaftsmalerei gewählt. Hier sind keine Figuren, keine Körper, keine Eingriffe von Menschen zu sehen. Mich haben an dem Austausch über dieses Werk vor allem die Themen Landschaft, Farbe und Malerei aus einer zeitgenössischen und künstlerischen Sicht interessiert. Zudem haben wir in der Fokusgruppe auch gesellschaftlich übergeordnete Themen wie koloniale Kontexte und politische Aspekte diskutiert. 

Für diesen Workshop habe ich Maler*innen und Künstler*innen eingeladen. Sie sind alle in bildnerischen, teils malerischen Prozessen heimisch. Gemeinsam mit ihnen, ihren künstlerischen Expertisen und Erfahrungen, wollte ich interessante, neue und vor allem aktuelle Sichtweisen auf das Werk von Emil Nolde gewinnen. Bei meiner Vorbereitung und Moderation auf den Fokusgruppen-Workshop hat mich u.a.  die Frage beschäftigt: Welche Kontexte könnte eine Landschaftsmalerei vermitteln? 

Bei diesem Austausch mit dem Fokus auf das Malerische und Bildnerische fand ich sehr überraschend – und das im positiven Sinne – , wie viele komplexe ideologische Positionierungen in einer vermeintlich harmlos und schön erscheinenden Malerei gelesen werden können und wie sich darin politische Bewegungen der Zeit wiederspiegeln können. Für mich war es überraschend, da es sich um eine Malerei handelte, die keine direkte und politische Handlung zeigt oder Haltung vermittelt hat.

Mehr

Zur Redaktion der Inhalte

Die Autor*innen und Journalist*innen Sonja Eismann und Josephine Papke unterhalten sich über den redaktionellen Prozess von Various Answers.

Im Gegensatz zu einer kunsthistorischen Fachsprache sind journalistische Texte subjektiver, kreativer und zugänglicher. Sonja Eismann und Josephine Papke waren aktuelle Zugänge und nicht-akademische sowie diskriminierungskritische Sprache wichtig. Die beiden Journalist*innen hatten als Ausgangsmaterial die Diskussionsinhalte der Workshops; hier berichten sie über ihren Auswahlprozess und wie sie Schwerpunkte setzten. Dabei war es ihnen wichtig, Alltagswissen, Vielfalt und Multiperspektivität abzubilden. Bewusst handelt es sich nicht nur um erklärende Inhalte, sondern auch um assoziative Gedanken, kritische Kommentare und künstlerische Beiträge.

00:00
(Josephine & Sonja) Video, 03:35

Themen

Zwölf übergeordnete diskursive Themen begleiten die zwölf ausgewählten Werke. Sie entstanden durch die Diskussionen der Teilnehmer*innen und Moderator*innen sowie die Bearbeitung des Redaktionsteams. Versammelt sind Beiträge zu aktuellen, gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen, die lose mit der Sammlung in Verbindung stehen, die Werke aber nicht erklären. Diese Inhalte können auch an weitere Werke aus der Sammlung anknüpfen, die nicht im Projekt befragt wurden. Die zwölf Themen sind Vorschläge, die neue Perspektiven eröffnen und immer wieder erweitert und aktualisiert werden können.

Werke

Zwölf Arbeiten wurden im Rahmen des Pilotprojektes exemplarisch befragt. Sehen Sie hier die Übersicht und klicken Sie sich durch die Beiträge, die ausgehend von diesen zwölf Werken partizipativ entstanden sind. Die Auswahl steht nicht repräsentativ für die Sammlung des Brücke-Museums, sondern wurde in Zusammenarbeit zwischen Projektteam und Museum getroffen.

Impressum

Various Answers: Sprache, Wissen, Narration

Projektleitung: Daniela Bystron, Judith Kirchner
Leitung/Moderation der Fokusgruppen-Workshops: Marwa Younes Almokbel (Das gelbschwarze Trikot, Vor der rosa Wand), Josephine Ansah Valerie Deutesfeld (Artistin, Freundinnen, Im Atelier, Zirkusszene), Judith Kirchner (Sich kämmender Akt), Sandra Ortmann (Liegender Akt vor Spiegel, Nach dem Bade, Rückenakt mit Spiegel und Mann), Dachil Sado (Afrikanisches, Jägers Haus auf Alsen)
Redaktion: Sonja Eismann, Josephine Papke
Übersetzungen (deutsch, englisch): Good & Cheap Art Translators
Übersetzungen (arabisch): Marwa Younes Almokbel
Lektorat: Julia Stoff
Technische Produktion: Sebastian Weise, Marlies Pahlenberg (Assistenz)
Verwaltung: Barbara Jerusalem, Julia Schmitt, Ute Kirschbaum
Gestaltung: Julia Born, Julia Novitch
Programmmierung: Systemantics
Assistenz CMS: Tabesch Mehrabi
Sprecher*innen (Audios: Fragen/Assoziationen): Dena Abay, Lamin Leroy Gibba, Hêvîn Tekin

Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen: Ahmad El Hamidi, Alice Z Jones, Anwar Al Atrash, Athena Solomon B., Auro Orso, Bassel Zoughip, Bettina Keß, Betül, Brigita, Britta, Charlotte Sohst, Christèle Mapuku, ck, Claude Förster, Dani Hasrouni, Dilek, Elena, Emilia, Evelina Reiter, Fabio Auerswald, Fafali Roy Ziga-Abortta, Felicia, Feven, Franziska Achatzi, Frédéric Duval, Icecold Alma, Jamie, Johan, Josephine Ansah Valerie Deutesfeld, Jülia Devies, Juri, Kifan Alkarjousli, Konni Zeidler, L*, Lea Abena Pahl, Lea Malaika Som, Lena Scheiterbauer, Lotte Wintraecken, Maria Diallo, Maria González Leal, Meskerem, Milton Camilo, Miriam Chebaibai Koch, Myriam, Miriam Rainer, Nadine Nzambisa Ngolo, Natascha Anahita Nassir-Shahnian, Princela Biyaa, Rama Alsaman, Ramin Parvin, Rania, Samantha Joy Nyamekye Deutesfeld, Sandra Burkhardt, Sandi, Stephanie Achatzi, Susheela Mahendran, Sydney, Tabesch, Tanya, Viviana, Wanjiru Njehiah, Yemisi Babatola, Yuyu Elmi, Zinaida Sebastiao Lina

Weitere Beiträge: A. Rochaun Meadows-Fernandez, Aischa Sane, Anne Graefer, Aya Soika, Christiane Remm, Daddypuss Rex, Dani Hasrouni, Dieter Frey, Dominique Grisard, Elena Schroll, Felix Denk, Isabel Fischer, Johann Voigt, Josephine Papke, Marwa Younes Almokbel, Maria González Leal, Miriam Rainer, Lea Susemichel, Peggy McIntosh, Sandra Burkhardt, Şeyda Kurt, Simbi Schwarz, Sonja Eismann, Thủy-Tiên Nguyễn


Das Projekt Various Answers wurde entwickelt im Rahmen von “dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions” of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.