Photo: Anika Büssemeier

The programme of Education & Outreach is redefining the role of Brücke-Museum and its collection for our current times of social and political change. We make connections between our visitors, the neighbourhood, cultural actors, artists and practitioners to discuss contemporary artistic and social questions. We work with a wide variety of partners and remain open to establishing new contacts.

Since April 2018, Education & Outreach has been in development and welcomes your feedback, suggestions and interest.

Direction: Daniela Bystron, Curator of Outreach
Assistance: Nora Hogrefe
Freelance art mediation: Julia Devies, Marian Fuchs, Renen Itzhaki, Judith Kirchner, Lotte Leerschool, Sieglinde Lemcke, Valeria Sanguini, Katja Schöppe-Carstensen

Adults

Public Guided Tours

Our public guided tours provide you with the opportunity to explore and discuss the current exhibition together with one of our art mediators.

You can find the current programme in our calendar.

Adults

Re-visited

In the series Re-visited, experts from different disciplines put the exhibition in context from their particular perspective – an exhibition tour based on discussion.

You can find the current programme in our calendar.

Children & Family

For Kids! Game of cards

The set of cards can guide you through the exhibition. You are free to draw, tell stories, and express your ideas and observations. Each card refers to a specific work of art or an aspect of the exhibition.

Available free of charge for children at the ticket desk.

Children & Family

Family Day

On Family Day at Brücke-Museum, all families are warmly invited to visit and experience the museum and its current exhibition. Family Day is open to all visitors and there is no need to register. We recommend allowing at least one hour for your visit.

You can find the current programme in our calendar.

Children & Family

Winter Holiday Workshop

Together with our art mediators, children and teenagers explore the museum and develop artistic approaches to the themes of the current exhibition.

You can find the current programme in our calendar.

School

It fits! Frames and Pictures by the Artists‘ Group Brücke
Interactive Exhibition Tour

What would a painting be without a frame? How do artwork and frame fit together?

The Brücke artists have themselves created and commissioned frames for their paintings. Together we examine pictures and frames and look for Expressionist characteristics. Colours, shapes and materials play a major role.

90 mins, German: € 80 / English, French, Dutch: € 90
Nursery, primary school
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences
Group size: max. 20 people

Information and booking:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mon–Fri: 9 am–4 pm, Sat–Sun: 9 am–1 pm)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

School

Framed and exhibited: What are the limits of art?
Interactive Exhibition Tour

The frame limits the painting and thus clearly defines the boundaries of the artwork – doesn’t it?

Together, the students set out in search of limitations and question the social framing of Brücke art, both then and now.

90 mins, German: € 80 / English, French, Dutch: € 90
Primary school, section I, section II
Subjects: Art, life studies, history, social sciences
Group size: max. 20 people

Information and booking:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mon–Fri: 9 am–4 pm, Sat–Sun: 9 am–1 pm)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

School

Introduction for teachers

Guided exhibition tour for teachers with director Lisa Marei Schmidt and a presentation of the current school programme by curator of outreach Daniela Bystron.

Date: Monday, 25.11.2019, 3–4.30 pm

Information and registration:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mon–Fri: 9 am–4 pm, Sat–Sun: 9 am–1 pm)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

School

Exchange: School and Museum

Brücke-Museum is constantly developing new programmes for schools and would like to use this meeting to exchange ideas with teachers, educators and cultural mediators. The meeting serves to present the current programmes and asks for wishes/needs from the school sector.

Date: Thursday, 5 December 2019, 3–5 pm

Information and registration:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mon–Fri: 9 am–4 pm, Sat–Sun: 9 am–1 pm)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

Cooperation

Thinking art didactics another way – Museum
University collaboration

Duration: October 2019 – March 2020

Together with the Institute for Art Didactics and Aesthetic Education of the Berlin University of the Arts, forms of art didactics in connection with the out-of-school learning location museum, which is particularly important for art teaching, will be discussed and experienced in this seminar.

In particular, art-didactic perspectives will be designed and discussed on the basis of individual approaches to the museum as a place of (self-)education.

Berlin University of the Arts: Conrad Rodenberg
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Cooperation

New presentation: The Brücke-Museum. Concepts for an up-to-date collection presentation
University collaboration

Duration: October 2019 – März 2020

Since 2017, Brücke-Museum has been under a new management. The view on the in-house artists Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Otto Mueller and their colleagues is to be updated and anchored in the present. With this in mind, the museum is striving for close cooperation with scientists and artists. The first temporary exhibitions already show that many research questions have remained unanswered after the stylistic development of Brücke Expressionism had been in the foreground since the museum was founded in 1967.

Out of this desideratum, the project seminar is conceived with practical relevance to museum activities as its focus. The participants will be introduced to the history of Brücke art as well as to curatorial work with museum collections and international discourses by Meike Hoffmann (Kunsthistorisches Institut, Freie Universität Berlin), Lisa Marei Schmidt (Director, Brücke-Museum) and Daniela Bystron (Curator of Outreach, Brücke-Museum). On this basis, the participants will develop concepts for the presentation and mediation of individual groups of works from the collection of Brücke-Museum.

Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Meike Hoffmann
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron, Lisa Marei Schmidt

 

Cooperation, School

“Sometimes Unanswerable” Student-Centred Research at Brücke-Museum
School collaboration

Duration: September 2018–August 2019

Of what relevance is the artists’ group Brücke today? How can these artists and their work relate to the everyday life of young people? Are there social and political analogies to be made with the present? How can Brücke art be recontextualised in today’s Berlin? What previously unexplored perspectives can be found in the museum? And how can young people become involved and contribute their questions, ideas and points of view to the museum and its work?

For this project, we use of process-oriented, student-centred, participatory approach which is closely aligned to the museum’s own practice: conducting research, propose questions, seeking methods and strategies to suggest possible answers, inviting experts and holding interviews. Sometimes Unanswerable deliberately begins with asking young people personal questions oriented related to their biographical and cultural backgrounds, personal interests and tendencies. Here, museum staff, teachers and experts invited by the students themselves give support in exploring research areas of their choice.  

Sometimes Unanswerable focuses on questions but leaves the answers open – there is no right or wrong. This approach is based on the firm conviction that learning starts with the act of questioning. The particular aim of the project is to supplement the institutions of the museum and the school (which have traditionally stood for canonised knowledge) with more fluid and critical concepts of knowledge. Thus, we put faith in young people to take their questions seriously and to explore their own possible answers using creative strategies.

Kurt-Tucholsky-Schule, Berlin: Grit Wöhlert
Project management: Daniela Bystron, Nora Hogrefe
Artists: Karen Winzer and Markus Strieder, supported by Patrick Lindhof (film) and Anika Büssemeier (photography)

Sponsored by Berlin Project Funds for Cultural Education.

Cooperation

For Tomorrow. Artistic Interventions in the Museum
University collaboration

Duration: April–July 2019

Questioning the Canon and Codes, Learning and Forgetting 

The aim of the seminar project “For Tomorrow. Artistic Interventions in the Museum” is to examin experimental artistic approaches to art education and communication, extending from modernism to contemporary art. Participants analyse how different perspectives and cultural experiences of various networks and local neighbourhoods can be embedded in education through the use of society’s cultural canon. Building on this questioning, participants develop their own creative ideas for an artistic intervention based on their specialist field. They will then realise their ideas at the Brücke-Museum.

Conclusion with artistic interventions at Brücke-Museum: 10 July 2019, 5–9 pm

Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee: Prof. Mona Jas
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Cooperation

Cosmopolitan Berlin
Fellowship

Duration: May 2018–May 2019

In relation to today’s global migration and the ever-increasing threats to artistic freedom, Berlin offers a new home to many artists and cultural workers who are at risk. The initiative Cosmopolitan Berlin,established by the Senate of Berlin, supports artists every year with a fellowship. Brücke-Museum is working with the artist Kamal Sallat, who is exploring the artwork The Fishing Boat by Max Pechstein (1913). He is recontextualising this very important work held in Brücke-Museum’s collection, offering a very personal response by producing a series of paintings and a documentary film.

Fellow: Kamal Sallat
Brücke-Museum: Lisa Marei Schmidt, Daniela Bystron

Cooperation

Curating Exhibitions. Focus: Sexism and Racism
University collaboration

Duration: April 2018–July 2018

For the first time, Brücke-Museum is working with the Department of Museum Studies at the University of Applied Sciences, Berlin. Students on this course are introduced to fundamental ideas and skills of curating through both theory and practice. They are given insights into curating, programme development, various disciplinary approaches to collecting and exhibiting, the development of exhibition design ideas and narratives as well as the means of conveying information. In small groups, the students conceive an intervention in the presentation of the museum’s collection which takes a critical approach to the themes of sexism and racism.

University of Applied Sciences, Berlin (Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft): Prof. Susan Kamel
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Foto: Anika Büssemeier

Aktivitäten im Bereich Bildung & Outreach interpretieren die Rolle des Brücke-Museums und seiner Kunst in Zeiten sozialer und politischer Veränderungen neu. Wir wollen unser Publikum, die Nachbarschaft, Kulturakteur*innen, Künstler*innen und Praktiker*innen zusammenbringen, um mögliche Antworten auf aktuelle künstlerische und soziale Fragen zu finden. Dabei arbeiten wir mit unterschiedlichen Kooperationspartner*innen zusammen und sind offen für neue Kontakte.

Seit April 2018 befindet sich der Bereich Bildung & Outreach in Aufbau und wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse und Ihr Feedback.

Leitung: Daniela Bystron, Kuratorin für Outreach
Wissenschaftliche Volontärin: Nora Hogrefe
Freie Vermittlerinnen: Julia Devies, Marian Fuchs, Renen Itzhaki, Judith Kirchner, Lotte Leerschool, Sieglinde Lemcke, Valeria Sanguini, Katja Schöppe-Carstensen

Erwachsene

Öffentliche moderierte Rundgänge

In öffentlichen moderierten Rundgängen haben Sie samstags die Gelegenheit, die jeweils aktuelle Ausstellung gemeinsam mit einer unserer Kunstvermittler*innen zu erkunden und im dialogischen Austausch ins Gespräch miteinander zu kommen.

Aktuelle Termine finden Sie im Kalender.

Erwachsene

Neu gesichtet

Im Gesprächsformat Neu gesichtet kontextualisieren Expert*innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen die Ausstellung aus ihrer jeweiligen Perspektive in einem dialogischen Ausstellungsrundgang.

Aktuelle Termine finden Sie im Kalender.

Kinder & Familie

Für Kinder! Kartenspiel

Das Kartenset begleitet dich bei deinem Rundgang durch die Ausstellungen. Du kannst zeichnen, Geschichten erfinden und hast Platz für deine Ideen und Beobachtungen. Jede Karte bezieht sich auf ein bestimmtes Kunstwerk oder einen Raum in der Ausstellung.

Für Kinder kostenfrei an der Kasse erhältlich.

Kinder & Familie

Familientag

Zum Familientag im Brücke-Museum ist die ganze Familie herzlich eingeladen, das Haus und die aktuelle Ausstellung gemeinsam kennenzulernen. Der Familientag ist eine offene Veranstaltung, zu der alle Besucher*innen ohne Anmeldung jederzeit vorbeikommen können. Das Brücke-Museum empfiehlt, mindestens eine Stunde für den Besuch einzuplanen.

Aktuelle Termine finden Sie im Kalender.

Kinder & Familie

Winterferienworkshop

Kinder und Jugendliche erkunden gemeinsam mit unseren Kunstvermittler*innen das Museum und erarbeiten künstlerische Zugänge zu den Themen der aktuellen Ausstellung.

Aktuelle Termine finden Sie im Kalender.

Schule

Und wie das passt! Rahmen und Bilder der Künstlergruppe Brücke
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

Was wäre ein Gemälde ohne Rahmen? Und wie passen Werk und Rahmen zusammen?

Die Brücke-Künstler haben selbst Rahmen für ihre Bilder angefertigt und bauen lassen. Gemeinsam betrachten wir Bilder und Rahmen und suchen darin Merkmale des Expressionismus. Dabei spielen Farben, Formen und Materialien eine große Rolle.

90 Min., Deutsch: € 80 / Englisch, Französisch, Niederländisch: € 90
Kita, Grundschule
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften
Gruppengröße: max. 20 Personen

Information und Buchung:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mo–Fr: 9–16 Uhr, Sa–So: 9–13 Uhr)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

Schule

Eingerahmt und ausgestellt: Welche Grenzen hat die Kunst?
Interaktives Ausstellungsgespräch

Der Rahmen begrenzt das Gemälde und steckt somit die Grenzen des Kunstwerks deutlich ab – oder?

Gemeinsam gehen die Schüler*innen auf die Suche nach Begrenzungen und hinterfragen auch gesellschaftliche Rahmungen der Brücke-Kunst damals wie heute.

90 Min., Deutsch: € 80 / Englisch, Französisch, Niederländisch: € 90
Grundschule, Sek I, Sek II
Fächer: Kunst, Sachunterricht, Geschichte, Gesellschaftswissenschaften
Gruppengröße: max. 20 Personen

Information und Buchung:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mo–Fr: 9–16 Uhr, Sa–So: 9–13 Uhr)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

Schule

Einführung für Lehrer*innen

Moderierter Ausstellungsrundgang für Lehrer*innen mit der Direktorin Lisa Marei Schmidt und einer Vorstellung der aktuellen Schulprogramme von der Kuratorin für Outreach Daniela Bystron.

Termin: Montag, 25.11.2019, 15–16:30 Uhr

Information und Anmeldung:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mo–Fr: 9–16 Uhr, Sa–So: 9–13 Uhr)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

Schule

Austausch: Schule und Museum

Das Brücke-Museum erarbeitet kontinuierlich neue Programme für Schulen und möchte mit diesem Treffen mit Lehrpersonen, Pädagog*innen und Kulturvermittler*innen in den Austausch kommen. Das Treffen dient der Vorstellung der aktuellen Programme und fragt nach Wünschen/Bedarfen aus dem schulischen Bereich.

Termin: Dienstag, 3. Dezember 2019, 15–17 Uhr

Information und Anmeldung:
Museumsdienst Berlin
+49 (0)30 247 49 888 (Mo–Fr: 9–16 Uhr, Sa–So: 9–13 Uhr)
museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

Kooperation

Kunstdidaktik anders denken – Museum
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: Oktober 2019 – März 2020

Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Kunstdidaktik und Ästhetische Bildung der UdK Berlin werden in diesem Seminar Formen der Kunstdidaktik in Verbindung mit dem für den Kunstunterricht besonders bedeutenden außerschulischen Lernort Museum besprochen und erfahrbar gemacht.

Im Speziellen werden anhand von zu erforschenden individuellen Zugängen zum Museum als (Selbst-)Bildungsort kunstdidaktische Perspektiven entworfen und diskutiert.

Universität der Künste: Conrad Rodenberg
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Kooperation

Neu vorgestellt: Das Brücke-Museum. Konzepte für eine aktuelle Sammlungspräsentation
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: Oktober 2019 – März 2020

Seit 2017 steht das Brücke Museum unter einer neuen Leitung. Zukünftig soll der Blick auf die Hauskünstler Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Erich Heckel, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Otto Mueller und deren Kollegen aktualisiert und in der Gegenwart verankert werden. Hierfür strebt das Museum eine enge Kooperation mit Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen an. Schon die ersten Sonderausstellungen zeigen, dass noch viele Forschungsfragen offengeblieben sind, nachdem seit Gründung des Museums im Jahr 1967 die stilistische Entwicklung des Brücke-Expressionismus im Vordergrund stand.

Aus diesem Desiderat heraus ist das Projektseminar nah an der Praxis musealer Tätigkeitsfelder konzipiert. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden in die Geschichte der Brücke-Kunst sowie in das kuratorische Arbeiten mit Museumsbeständen und in die internationalen Diskurse dazu durch Meike Hoffmann (Kunsthistorisches Institut, Freie Universität Berlin), Lisa Marei Schmidt (Direktorin, Brücke-Museum) und Daniela Bystron (Kuratorin für Outreach, Brücke-Museum) eingeführt. Auf dieser Grundlage entwickeln die Teilnehmer*innen Konzepte zur Präsentation und Vermittlung einzelner Werkgruppen aus der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums.

Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Meike Hoffmann
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron, Lisa Marei Schmidt

Kooperation, Schule

„Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar“ Schüler*innen-zentrierte Forschung im Brücke-Museum
Schulkooperation

Laufzeit: September 2018–August 2019

Was hat die Künstlergruppe Brücke mit Heute zu tun? Was haben deren Werke mit dem Alltag Jugendlicher zu tun? Gibt es soziale, politische Analogien zur Gegenwart? Wie lässt sich die Brücke-Kunst in Berlin neu verorten? Welche bisher nicht vorhandenen Perspektiven lassen sich im Museum ergänzen? Wie können sich Jugendliche ins Museum mit ihren Fragen, Ideen und Sichtweisen einmischen?

Für diese und weitere Fragen wählen wir ein prozessorientiertes, schüler*innen-zentriertes, partizipatives Format, das der Museumspraxis sehr nahe steht: Forschung betreiben, Fragen stellen, Methoden und Strategien einer möglichen Beantwortung suchen, Expert*innen einladen, Interviews führen. Bewusst stellt Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar die Entwicklung persönlicher Fragen, orientiert an biografischem und kulturellem Background, persönlichen Interessen und Abneigungen an den Anfang. Danach unterstützen Museums-Mitarbeiter*innen, Lehrer*innen und von den Schüler*innen selbst eingeladene Expert*innen die Forschungsfragen der Schüler*innen.  

Unter Umständen unbeantwortbar nimmt Fragen in den Fokus, und lässt deren Beantwortung offen – jenseits von richtig und falsch. Dahinter steckt die Überzeugung, dass Lernen mit Fragen beginnt. Insbesondere die Institutionen Museum und Schule, die traditionell für kanonisiertes Wissen stehen, möchten wir vor einem fließenden, kritischen Wissensbegriff befragen. So geben wir Jugendlichen Vertrauen, ihre Fragen ernst zu nehmen und ihnen mit eigenen, kreativen Strategien nachzugehen.

Kurt-Tucholsky-Schule Berlin: Grit Wöhlert
Projektleitung: Daniela Bystron, Nora Hogrefe
Künstler*innen: Karen Winzer und Markus Strieder, unterstützt von Patrick Lindhof (Film) und Anika Büssemeier (Fotografie)

Gefördert durch den Projektfonds für kulturelle Bildung Berlin

Kooperation

Für morgen. Künstlerische Interventionen im Museum
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: April–Juli 2019

Fragen zum Kanon, zu Codes und zum (Ver-)Lernen

Ziel des Seminar-Projekts „Für Morgen. Künstlerische Interventionen im Museum” ist die gemeinsame Untersuchung künstlerisch-experimenteller Ansätze der (Ver-)Mittlung im Kontext zeitgenössischer Kunst und der klassischen Moderne. Dabei soll analysiert werden, ob und wie unterschiedliche Perspektiven und kulturelle Erfahrungen verschiedener Netzwerke und lokaler Nachbarschaften in Vermittlungsprozessen über den kulturellen Kanon einer Gesellschaft eingebracht werden können. Daran anknüpfend entwickeln die Teilnehmer*innen aus ihrer jeweiligen fachlichen Expertise heraus eigene künstlerische Entwürfe für eine künstlerische Intervention im Brücke-Museum und setzen diese um.

Abschluss mit künstlerischen Interventionen im Brücke-Museum: 10. Juli 2019, 17–21 Uhr 

Kunsthochschule Weißensee: Prof. Mona Jas
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron

Kooperation

Weltoffenes Berlin
Stipendium

Laufzeit: Mai 2018–Mai 2019

Berlin bietet vor dem Hintergrund globaler Migrationsbewegungen und zunehmender Bedrohung künstlerischer Freiheit vielen gefährdeten Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden eine neue Heimat. Die vom Berliner Senat ins Leben gerufene Initiative Weltoffenes Berlin fördert Künstler*innen jährlich mit einem Stipendium. Das Brücke-Museum arbeitet im Rahmen des Fellowships mit dem Künstler Kamal Sallat zusammen, der sich mit dem Kunstwerk „Das Fischerboot“ von Max Pechstein (1913) auseinandersetzt. Damit kontextualisiert er eine wichtige Arbeit der Sammlung des Brücke-Museums neu und wirft einen sehr persönlichen Blick auf dieses Werk. Im Laufe seines Projektes werden ein Malereizyklus und ein dokumentarischer Film entstehen. 

Stipendiat: Kamal Sallat
Brücke-Museum: Lisa Marei Schmidt, Daniela Bystron

Kooperation

Kuratieren von Ausstellungen. Fokus: Sexismus und Rassismus
Hochschulkooperation

Laufzeit: April 2018–Juli 2018

Erstmals arbeitet das Brücke-Museum mit dem Studiengang Museologie der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin zusammen. In dem Kurs werden grundlegende einführende Gedanken und Fertigkeiten des Kuratierens theoretisch und praktisch vermittelt. Die Studierenden erhalten erste Einblicke in das Kuratieren, die Programmkonzeption, unterschiedliche disziplinäre Ansätze des Sammelns und Ausstellens, gestalterische Ideenentwicklung und in die Erarbeitung von Ausstellungsnarrativen sowie Formen der Vermittlung. In Kleingruppen erarbeiten die Studierenden eine Intervention zur Sammlungspräsentation mit diskriminierungskritischen Ansätzen zu den Themen Sexismus und Rassismus.

Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin: Prof. Susan Kamel
Brücke-Museum: Daniela Bystron