Digital

The Brücke Museum would also like to share our events with you digitally/hybrid. Some events that take place on site at the Brücke Museum will be recorded and put on Youtube for you. You can follow some of the formats live here or watch them as a video afterwards. Some events take place live via the Zoom platform. You will find registration options or direct links to these in the respective calendar.

Digital

Talk
Millis Awakening with Natasha A. Kelly

Milli’s Awakening: Film screening and lecture with Natasha A. Kelly in the exhibition Whose Expression? at the Brücke-Museum, moderated by Daniela Bystron.

Nadu (born 1955), a mask maker, Naomi (born 1965), an actress, and Maciré (born 1995), a student, are three of eight protagonists who have in common that they are Black women* living in Germany and working in the art context. Their biographical narratives show to what extent the occupation with art, in all its forms, can serve as a “remedy” to alleviate emotional isolation and social oppression. For Black women* have always been eroticised and exoticised by the white male gaze. In the works of many Expressionists, which are considered “classics”, they were depicted merely as “objects of desire”. The painter Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, for example, did not so much seek to explore the anatomy of women*s bodies during the heyday of German colonialism. Rather, he was concerned with feeling his own masculine power through the supposed “nature-boundness” of his motifs. In 1911, he painted the sleeping Milli lying naked on a couch. He only allowed his own potency to be a source of inspiration. While numerous art historians focus their analyses on Kirchner’s sexual fantasies as well as his aesthetics, the film delves into the world of thoughts and feelings of his “muse” and allows Milli to awaken symbolically. In interviews with filmmaker Natasha A. Kelly, Black artists of different generations have their say, who in and through their artistic work have overcome the common colonial stereotypes and formed their own self-determined identity as Black women* within the white German majority society. They report on their challenges in and with German art institutions, on visual representation and political and social exclusion. Where can their experiences be built upon? Which strategies can be brought together? Which ones need to be rethought? Art thus not only forms the architecture of the film, but is also presented as the cornerstone for the social and political actionism of those involved in the project. In the bilingual publication of the same name, the interviews conducted are printed in their full length. The aim is to show the significance of artistic creation from a Black feminist perspective.

 

External content
I agree that contents of the Brücke-Museum may be displayed to me via the external provider www.youtube.com. This means that personal data will be transferred to third party platforms. Brücke-Museum has no influence on this. You can read more about this in our privacy policy.

Digital

Talk
What is Unseen Cannot Be Broken von Saba Innab

Talk March 5 2022 by Saba Innab about the display of the Transition Exhibition at Kunsthaus Dahlem. The artist will be activating her display with a lecture on the abstraction of the decolonial discourse.

The multidisciplinary practice of the Palestinian-Jordanian architect, artist, and urban researcher Saba Innab (1980) spans historical research, drawing, mapping, model-making, and spatial interventions. Innab explores suspended states between temporality and permanence, and is concerned with variable notions of dwelling and building and their political, spatial and poetic implications in language and architecture. Recent exhibitions include: 57th edition of Carnegie International, Carnegie Museum, Pittsburgh, 2018; Biennale d’Architecture d’Orléans, Frac Centre-Val de Loire, Orléans, 2017; Marrakech Biennial, Marrakech, 2016, and her recent solo exhibitions include: Station Point, ifa-Galerie, Berlin, 2019; Al Rahhalah, Marfa’, Beirut, 2016. Innab was a DAAD Artists-in-Berlin fellow for 2020-2021.

 

External content
I agree that contents of the Brücke-Museum may be displayed to me via the external provider www.youtube.com. This means that personal data will be transferred to third party platforms. Brücke-Museum has no influence on this. You can read more about this in our privacy policy.

Digital

Talk
About the Center of Unfinished Business

Über das Center of Unfinished Business: A Talk with Julia Grosse und Yvette Mutumba (C&)

Julia Grosse and Yvette Mutumba have accompanied the Brücke Museum as experts during its engagement with the topic of colonialism. The museum invited them to contribute the exhibition Whose Expression? The Brücke Artists in a Colonial Context with their Center for Unfinished Business to add a critical and contemporary voice. In addition, in their capacity as teachers at the Institute for Art in Context at the UdK Berlin, the two led the seminar Colonialism and the Brücke artists’ group, in which they addressed the topic theoretically. Artistic interventions by the students were created as part of the accompanying program of Whose Expression?

Julia Grosse and Yvette Mutumba will introduce the Center for Unfinished Business in their talk. Moderation: Daniela Bystron, Curator for Outreach, Brücke Museum

External content
I agree that contents of the Brücke-Museum may be displayed to me via the external provider www.youtube.com. This means that personal data will be transferred to third party platforms. Brücke-Museum has no influence on this. You can read more about this in our privacy policy.

Digital

Talk
Moments of Unrest. On the Re-activation of Colonial Collections

Moments of Unrest: Talk in the Transition Exhibition at Kunsthaus Dahlem [DE].

In the debate about contaminated colonial heritage, it has become increasingly clear that collections from colonial contexts can be found not only in ethnological museums, but also in artists’ estates. Karl Schmidt-Rottluff also amassed a collection of approximately 100 ritual and everyday “subject/objects” (Felwine Sarr). He collected them according to personal standards, because of their formal beauty and supposed originality, and partly integrated them into his paintings. After Karl Schmidt-Rottluff’s death, they were categorized according to scientific standards and set aside in the depot. The collection bears witness not only to the expansion of Eurocentric horizons, but also to the history of colonial appropriation and the arbitrary overwriting of former meanings. How can a new way of dealing with these things be found in dialogue with the so-called societies of origin? To what extent can participatory digital formats subvert colonial linguistic conventions and hierarchizations? How can the “subject/objects” but also the institutions themselves be put into “disquiet”? How can the transformative moment of disquiet be made productive: for public critique, but also for new forms of cooperation, dialogical research and exhibition formats, and finally for restitutions?

A conversation with with Agustina Andreoletti (Digitales Outreach, Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum, Cologne), Julia Binter (Postcolonial Provenance Research, Zentralarchiv Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), Anna Brus (Digitisation project Brücke-Museum & Research associate, Universität zu Köln), Michi Knecht (Ethnologist, Contradiction Studies, Universität Bremen), Ohiniko Mawussé Toffa (Mission and colonial historian, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) and Nanette Snoep (Director Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum Cologne)

External content
I agree that contents of the Brücke-Museum may be displayed to me via the external provider www.youtube.com. This means that personal data will be transferred to third party platforms. Brücke-Museum has no influence on this. You can read more about this in our privacy policy.

Digital

Talk
Rabaul, Rakaia, Na Ta (The Mangrove, The Volcanoes, The Deep Ocean)

Rabaul, Rakaia, Na Ta (The Mangrove, The Volcanoes, The Deep Ocean)

Artist talk with Lisa Hilli in the exhibition Transition Exhibition at Kunsthaus Dahlem, moderated by Paz Guevara.

External content
I agree that contents of the Brücke-Museum may be displayed to me via the external provider www.youtube.com. This means that personal data will be transferred to third party platforms. Brücke-Museum has no influence on this. You can read more about this in our privacy policy.

Digital

Das Brücke-Museum möchte Sie auch digital/hybrid an unseren Veranstaltungen teilhaben lassen. Einige Veranstaltungen, die vor Ort im Brücke-Museum stattfinden, werden aufgenommen und für Sie auf Youtube  gestellt. Sie können die Formate hier teils live verfolgen oder sich im Nachhinein als Video anschauen. Einige Veranstaltungen finden live über die Plattform Zoom statt. Anmeldungsmöglichkeiten oder Direktlinks hierzu finden Sie jeweils im Kalender.

Digital

Gespräch
Millis Erwachen mit Natasha A. Kelly

Millis Erwachen: Filmscreening und Vortrag mit Natasha A. Kelly in der Ausstellung Whose Expression? im Brücke-Museum, moderiert von Daniela Bystron.

Nadu (Jahrgang 1955), Maskenherstellerin, Naomi (Jahrgang 1965), Schauspielerin, oder Maciré (Jahrgang 1995), Studentin sind drei von acht Protagonistinnen, die die Gemeinsamkeit haben als Schwarze Frauen* ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Deutschland zu haben und im Kunstkontext tätig zu sein. Ihre biographischen Erzählungen zeigen, inwieweit die Beschäftigung mit Kunst, in all ihren Ausprägungsformen, als »Heilmittel« dienen kann, gelebte emotionale Isolation und gesellschaftliche Unterdrückung zu lindern. Denn Schwarze Frauen* wurden seit jeher durch den weißen männlichen Blick erotisiert und exotisiert. In den als „Klassiker“ geltenden Werken vieler Expressionisten wurden sie lediglich als „Objekte der Begierde“ abgebildet. Der Maler Ernst Ludwig Kirchner beispielsweise suchte zur Blütezeit des deutschen Kolonialismus weniger die Anatomie des Frauen*körpers zu erforschen. Vielmehr ging es ihm darum, über die vermeintliche „Naturgebundenheit“ seiner Motive seine eigene Mannes*kraft zu spüren. 1911 malte er die Schlafende Milli nackt auf einer Couch liegend. Als Inspirationsquelle ließ er nur die eigene Potenz gelten. Während zahlreiche Kunsthistoriker*innen neben der Ästhetik auch die Sexualfantasien von Kirchner in den Fokus ihrer Analysen nehmen, taucht der Film in die Gedanken- und Gefühlswelt seiner „Muse“ ein und lässt Milli sinnbildlich erwachen. In Interviews mit der Filmemacherin Natasha A. Kelly kommen Schwarze Kunstschaffende verschiedener Generationen zu Wort, die in und durch ihre künstlerische Arbeit die gängigen kolonialtradierten Stereotype überwunden und ihre eigene selbstbestimmte Identität als Schwarze Frauen* innerhalb der weißen deutschen Mehrheitsgesellschaft ausgeformt haben. Sie berichten von ihren Herausforderungen in und mit deutschen Kunstinstitutionen, von visueller Repräsentation und politischer und sozialer Ausgrenzung. Wo lässt sich auf ihren Erfahrungen aufbauen? Welche Strategien können zusammengebracht werden? Welche müssen neu gedacht werden? Kunst bildet damit nicht nur die Architektur des Films, sondern wird auch als Grundstein für den sozialen und politischen Aktionismus der Projektbeteiligten dargestellt. In der gleichnamigen, zweisprachigen Publikation werden die geführten Interviews in ihrer vollen Länge abgedruckt. Ziel ist es, die Bedeutung künstlerischen Schaffens aus einer Schwarzen feministischen Perspektive aufzuzeigen.

 

Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte des Brücke-Museums über den externen Anbieter www.youtube.com angezeigt werden. Damit werden personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt. Das Brücke-Museum hat darauf keinen Einfluss. Näheres dazu lesen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

 

Digital

Gespräch
What is Unseen Cannot Be Broken von Saba Innab [EN]

Vortrag am 3.5.22 von Saba Innab über die Ausstellung Transition Exhibition im Kunsthaus Dahlem. Die Künstlerin wird ihr Display durch einen Beitrag zum Thema Abstraktion im Zusammenhang mit dem dekolonialen Diskurs aktivieren.


Die multidisziplinäre Praxis der palästinensisch-jordanischen Architektin, Künstlerin und Stadtforscherin Saba Innab (1980) umfasst historische Recherchen, Zeichnungen, Kartierungen, Modellbau und räumliche Interventionen. Innab erforscht Schwebezustände zwischen Zeitlichkeit und Dauer und beschäftigt sich mit variablen Begriffen von Wohnen und Bauen und deren politischen, räumlichen und poetischen Implikationen in Sprache und Architektur. Zu den jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören: 57th edition of Carnegie International, Carnegie Museum, Pittsburgh, 2018; Biennale d’Architecture d’Orléans, Frac Centre-Val de Loire, Orléans, 2017; Marrakech Biennial, Marrakech, 2016, und ihre jüngsten Einzelausstellungen umfassen: Station Point, ifa-Galerie, Berlin, 2019; Al Rahhalah, Marfa’, Beirut, 2016. Innab war DAAD-Stipendiatin in Berlin für die Jahre 2020-2021.

 

Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte des Brücke-Museums über den externen Anbieter www.youtube.com angezeigt werden. Damit werden personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt. Das Brücke-Museum hat darauf keinen Einfluss. Näheres dazu lesen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Digital

Gespräch
Über das Center of Unfinished Business

Über das Center of Unfinished Business: Ein Gespräch mit Julia Grosse und Yvette Mutumba (C&)

Julia Grosse und Yvette Mutumba haben das Brücke-Museum während seiner Beschäftigung mit dem Thema Kolonialismus als Expertinnen begleitet. Das Museum hat sie eingeladen, die Ausstellung Whose Expression? Die Künstler der Brücke im kolonialen Kontext mit ihrem Center for Unfinished Business um eine kritische und zeitgenössische Stimme zu erweitern. Zudem haben die beiden in ihrer Funktion als Lehrende des Instituts für Kunst im Kontext an der UdK Berlin das Seminar Kolonialismus und die Künstlergruppe Brücke geleitet, in dem sie sich theoretisch mit dem Thema auseinandersetzten. Es entstanden künstlerische Interventionen der Studierenden im Rahmen des Begleitprogramms von Whose Expression?.

Julia Grosse und Yvette Mutumba stellen in Ihrem Talk das Center for Unfinished Business vor. Moderation: Daniela Bystron, Kuratorin für Outreach, Brücke-Museum

Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte des Brücke-Museums über den externen Anbieter www.youtube.com angezeigt werden. Damit werden personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt. Das Brücke-Museum hat darauf keinen Einfluss. Näheres dazu lesen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Digital

Gespräch
Momente der Beunruhigung. Zur Re-Aktivierung kolonialer Sammlungen

Momente der Unruhe: Gespräch in der Ausstellung Transition Exhibition im Kunsthaus Dahlem [DE] 

In der Debatte um belastetes koloniales Erbe ist zunehmend deutlich geworden, dass nicht nur in ethnologischen Museen, sondern auch in Künstlernachlässen Sammlungsbestände aus kolonialen Kontexten zu finden sind. Auch Karl Schmidt-Rottluff legte eine Sammlung von circa 100 rituellen und alltäglichen „Subjekt/Objekten“ (Felwine Sarr) an. Er sammelte sie nach persönlichen Maßstäben, aufgrund ihrer formalen Schönheit und vermeintlichen Ursprünglichkeit und integrierte sie teilweise in seine Gemälde. Nach Karl Schmidt-Rottluffs Tod wurden sie nach wissenschaftlichen Standards kategorisiert und im Depot stillgestellt. Die Sammlung zeugt nicht nur von der Erweiterung des eurozentrischen Horizonts, sondern auch von der Geschichte kolonialer Aneignung und der willkürlichen Überschreibung ehemaliger Bedeutungen. Wie lässt sich im Dialog mit den sogenannten Herkunftsgesellschaften ein neuer Umgang mit diesen Dingen finden? Inwieweit können partizipative digitale Formate koloniale sprachliche Konventionen und Hierarchisierungen unterlaufen? Wie lassen sich die „Subjekt/Objekte“, aber auch die Institutionen selbst in „Beunruhigung“ versetzten? Wie kann der transformative Moment der Unruhe produktiv gemacht werden: für öffentliche Kritik, aber auch für neue Formen der Kooperation, dialogische Forschungs- und Ausstellungsformate und schließlich für Restitutionen? 

Ein Gespräch mit Agustina Andreoletti (Digitales Outreach, Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum, Köln), Julia Binter (Postkoloniale Provenienzforschung, Zentralarchiv Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), Anna Brus (Mitarbeiterin Brücke-Museum Digitalisierungsprojekt & Universität zu Köln), Michi Knecht (Ethnologin, Contradiction Studies, Universität Bremen), Ohiniko Mawussé Toffa (Missions- und Kolonialhistoriker, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) & Nanette Snoep (Direktorin Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum Köln)

Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte des Brücke-Museums über den externen Anbieter www.youtube.com angezeigt werden. Damit werden personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt. Das Brücke-Museum hat darauf keinen Einfluss. Näheres dazu lesen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Digital

Gespräch
Rabaul, Rakaia, Na Ta (The Mangrove, The Volcanoes, The Deep Ocean)

Rabaul, Rakaia, Na Ta (The Mangrove, The Volcanoes, The Deep Ocean)

Künstlerinnengespräch mit Lisa Hilli in der Ausstellung Transition Exhibition im Kunsthaus Dahlem, moderiert von Paz Guevara.

Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte des Brücke-Museums über den externen Anbieter www.youtube.com angezeigt werden. Damit werden personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt. Das Brücke-Museum hat darauf keinen Einfluss. Näheres dazu lesen Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.