Upcoming

Transition Exhibition

The Brücke-Museum houses the collection of the estate of Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. Part of it is a body of works from more than one hundred cultural works from over 20 regions in the world – among them New Guinea, Congo, Mexico.

The Transition Exhibition at the neighbouring Kunsthaus Dahlem contextualises this part of Schmidt-Rottluff’s collection from a critical perspective for the first time. It is a presentation of the collection as well as a critical engagement with the format of exhibiting collections from colonial contexts.  Contemporary artists and cultural practitioners were invited by curator Paz Guevara to engage with the works and their colonial history. Their artistic interventions offer propositions for new narratives and attempt to problematise and unlearn colonial continuities in the presentation of the collection.

The intensive artistic engagement with the history of collecting and exhibiting impulses debates on the critical indexing of works from colonial contexts, provenance research and the restitution debate within the Brücke-Museum’s active work through its collection history.

With works by Ruth Buchanan, Mariana Castillo Deball, Lizza May David, Marina Dubia, Haytham El-Wardany, Manuela García Aldana, Lisa Hilli, Satch Hoyt, Saba Innab, Keiko Kimoto, Musa Michelle Mattiuzzi, Nnenna Onuoha, Gabriel Rossell Santillán, Hank Willis Thomas and once known creators.


At the same time, the Brücke-Museum is hosting the exhibition Whose Expression? Die Künstler der Brücke im kolonialen Kontext.

The exhibition is a cooperation with the Kunsthaus Dahlem.

With the kind support of the Karl und Emy Schmidt-Rottluff Stiftung.

The digitisation of the estate is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. Project Partner is the  Forschungs- und Kompetenzzentrum Digitalisierung Berlin (digiS).

The inreach project Reflections: Colonial Legacies at the Brücke is supported by the “Zeitgeschichte und Erinnerungskultur” project fund of the State of Berlin.

The project Various Answers is developed as part of “dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions” of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) through the NEUSTART KULTUR programme.

Vorschau

Transition Exhibition

Das Brücke-Museum beherbergt den Nachlass des Künstlers Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. Hierzu zählen mehr als hundert Kunstwerke aus über 20 Regionen der Welt, unter anderem Papua-Neuguinea, Kamerun, Kongo und Mexiko.

Die Ausstellung Transition Exhibition im benachtbarten Kunsthaus Dahlem kontextualisiert diesen Teil der Sammlung Schmidt-Rottluffs erstmals aus einer kritischen Perspektive. Es handelt sich sowohl um eine Sammlungspräsentation, als auch um eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Format der Ausstellung von Sammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten. Die Kuratorin Paz Guevara hat zeitgenössische Künstler*innen eingeladen, sich mit den Werken und ihrer kolonialen Geschichte auseinanderzusetzen. Ihre künstlerischen Interventionen bieten Anknüpfungspunkte für neue Narrationen und versuchen koloniale Kontinuitäten in der Sammlungspräsentation zu problematisieren und zu verlernen.

Die intensive künstlerische Beschäftigung mit der Geschichte des Sammelns und des Ausstellens ermöglicht Debatten zur kritischen Erschließung von Werken aus kolonialen Kontexten, zur Provenienzforschung und zur Restitutionsdebatte im Rahmen der aktiven Sammlungsarbeit des Brücke-Museums.

Mit Werken von Ruth Buchanan, Mariana Castillo Deball, Lizza May David, Marina Dubia, Haytham El-Wardany, Manuela García Aldana, Lisa Hilli, Satch Hoyt, Saba Innab, Keiko Kimoto, Musa Michelle Mattiuzzi, Nnenna Onuoha, Gabriel Rossell Santillán und Hank Willis Thomas sowie von einst bekannte Urheber*innen.


Zeitgleich findet im Brücke-Museum die Ausstellung Whose Expression? Die Künstler der Brücke im kolonialen Kontext statt.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation mit dem Kunsthaus Dahlem.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Karl und Emy Schmidt-Rottluff Stiftung.

Die Digitalisierung des Nachlasses wird gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Projektpartner ist das Forschungs- und Kompetenzzentrum Digitalisierung Berlin (digiS).

Das Inreach-Programm Reflexionen. Koloniales Erbe im Brücke-Museum wird gefördert durch den Projektfonds „Zeitgeschichte und Erinnerungskultur“ des Landes Berlin.

Das Projekt Various Answers im Rahmen von „dive in. Programm für digitale Interaktionen“ der Kulturstiftung des Bundes wird gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.