Symposium
Expressionism Revisited: New Research Approaches and Questions

The Brücke Museum invites you to an international symposium from 1–3 June 2023 (new date!). In the past years, Expressionist art, and its examination through research and exhibitions, has triggered controversial debates. Contested topics are the Brücke members’ entangled histories with Colonialism and Imperialism, the group’s relationship with under-age models or Emil Nolde’s sympathies for the Nazi regime. This critical re-examination of Expressionism is at the heart of the symposium.

Dealing with the new challenges in the research, presentation and education of Expressionism, the three-day event wishes to discuss current research projects, methodological approaches and curatorial concepts in a variety of formats. The main focus of the symposium is on scholarly exchange and close interaction of practitioners and theoreticians.

Organisational team: Lisa Marei Schmidt and Elena Schroll (Brücke-Museum) in collaboration with Dr. Meike Hoffmann (FU Berlin), Dr. Andrea Meyer (TU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Aya Soika (Bard College Berlin) and Prof. Dr. Isabel Wünsche (Jacobs University)

The symposium is sponsored by the Franz Dieter und Michaela Kaldewei Kulturstiftung.

Add to iCal or Google Calendar

Symposium
Expressionism Revisited: Neue Forschungsansätze und Fragestellungen

Das Brücke-Museum lädt im nächsten Sommer (1.–3. Juni 2023) zu einem internationalen Symposium ein. In den letzten Jahren löste die in Forschung und Ausstellungen viel beachtete expressionistische Kunst kontroverse Debatten aus, die sich etwa an den Verflechtungen der Brücke-Künstler mit Kolonialismus und Imperialismus, ihrem Umgang mit minderjährigen Modellen oder der Nähe Emil Noldes zum NS-Regime entzündeten.

In verschiedenen Formaten sollen aktuelle Forschungsvorhaben, methodische Ansätze und Konzepte der Museumspraxis vorgestellt und diskutiert werden, die sich den neuen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Forschung, Aufarbeitung, Präsentation und Vermittlung des Expressionismus stellen. Ziel der dreitätigen Veranstaltung ist der wissenschaftliche Austausch und die Vernetzung an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis.

Organisationsteam: Lisa Marei Schmidt und Elena Schroll (Brücke-Museum) in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Meike Hoffmann (FU Berlin), Dr. Andrea Meyer (TU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Aya Soika (Bard College Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Isabel Wünsche (Jacobs University)

Das Symposium wird von der Franz Dieter und Michaela Kaldewei Kulturstiftung gefördert.

 

Hinzufügen zu iCal oder Google Calendar