On view exhibition

Vivian Suter
Bonzo’s Dream

The Argentinian-Swiss painter Vivian Suter’s invitation to the Brücke-Museum marks the first time that the collection will enter into a direct dialogue with a contemporary artist. 

The expansive installation presents Suter’s freely suspended canvases together with around 40 paintings and craft objects by the Brücke artists, including the rarely exhibited reverse sides of paintings by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, a tapestry by Erich Heckel, and a carved chess set by Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. The works on display from the Brücke-Museum were selected by Suter’s mother, the artist Elisabeth Wild, who died in February. A series of Wild’s precisely composed, small-format collages are also part of the exhibition. This juxtaposition opens up new perspectives on Suter’s works as well as on the museum’s collection.

Born in Buenos Aires in 1949, Suter moved to Switzerland with her parents in the 1960s, where she studied at the Kunstgewerbeschule Basel from 1967 to 1972. Since 1982, the artist has been living on a former coffee plantation on the outskirts of the small town of Panajachel in Guatemala. Her studio there is located in a large garden, which is reminiscent of a tropical jungle with its freely growing palm trees, ferns, and eucalyptus and avocado trees. Inspired by the lush vegetation, Suter paints her large-format canvases with acrylic and oil paint, but also with rainwater and earth. She often works outdoors, where leaves and animals leave their marks on the canvases.

The exhibition extends to the Museum Garden, where Suter’s works will be on display until November. The interplay between art and nature is one of the parallels between Suter’s artistic self-understanding and that of the Brücke protagonists. 


In recent years Vivian Suter had numerous exhibitions, including at Camden Art Centre, London (2020); Tate Liverpool (2019–2020); The High Line, New York (2019–2020); Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2019), and Mudam, Luxembourg (2019).

This is the artist’s first solo exhibition in Germany.

 

The Brücke-Museum is partner of Berlin Art Week (September 9–13, 2020).

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Vivian Suter
Bonzo’s Dream

Mit der Einladung an die argentinisch-schweizerische Malerin Vivian Suter tritt die Sammlung des Brücke-Museums zum ersten Mal in den direkten Dialog mit einer zeitgenössischen künstlerischen Position. 

In der raumgreifenden Installation werden Suters freihängende Leinwände zusammen mit rund 40 Gemälden und kunsthandwerklichen Arbeiten der Brücke-Künstler präsentiert. Bisher selten gezeigte Gemälderückseiten von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, ein Wandteppich von Erich Heckel, aber auch ein geschnitztes Schachspiel von Karl Schmidt-Rottluff sind zu entdecken. Die Auswahl der ausgestellten Werke aus dem Brücke-Museum hat Suters Mutter, die im Februar verstorbene Künstlerin Elisabeth Wild, getroffen. Auch eine Reihe von Wilds präzise komponierten, kleinformatigen Collagen sind Teil der Präsentation. In der Gegenüberstellung eröffnen sich neue Perspektiven auf Suters Arbeiten und zugleich auf die Sammlungsbestände des Museums.

1949 in Buenos Aires geboren, zog Suter in den 1960er Jahren mit ihren Eltern in die Schweiz, wo sie von 1967 bis 1972 an der Kunstgewerbeschule Basel studierte. Seit 1982 lebt die Künstlerin auf einer ehemaligen Kaffeeplantage am Rande der Kleinstadt Panajachel in Guatemala. Ihr Atelier liegt dort in einem großen Garten, der mit frei wachsenden Palmen, Farnen, Eukalyptus- und Avocadobäumen an einen tropischen Urwald erinnert. Inspiriert von der üppigen Vegetation bemalt Suter ihre großformatigen Leinwände mit Acryl- und Ölfarbe, aber auch mit Regenwasser und Erde. Häufig arbeitet sie im Freien, wobei Blätter und Tiere ihre Spuren auf den Leinwänden hinterlassen. 

Die Ausstellung wird in den Museumsgarten ausgeweitert, wo Werke Suters bis November gezeigt werden. Das Zusammenspiel von Kunst und Natur ist eine der Parallelen im künstlerischen Selbstverständnis von Suter und den Brücke-Protagonisten. 


In den letzten Jahren hatte Vivian Suter zahlreiche Ausstellungen, u.a. im Camden Art Centre, London (2020); Tate Liverpool (2019–2020); The High Line, New York (2019–2020); Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2019) und Mudam, Luxemburg (2019). Hierzulande ist es die erste Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin.

Das Brücke-Museum ist Partner der Berlin Art Week (9.–13. September 2020).