Discussion

Mehringplatz and Hedemannstraße with ARCH+: On Social Housing [German]

Discussion and tour with Alexander Hoff (architectural historian), Frank Seehausen (architect/art historian) and Niloufar Tajeri (architect/architectural theorist)

1,550 flats, a retirement home with 87 residential units, a youth centre, a day-care centre and commercial space: this is what Werner Düttmann realised between 1966 and 1975 from the urban development plan drawn up by his teacher Hans Scharoun. The original plan only envisaged office and administrative buildings for the reconstruction of Mehringplatz, which had been destroyed in the Second World War. Just a little further on, Düttmann built a residential complex of around 300 units on Hedemannstrasse between 1973 and 1975—their design was always based first and foremost on the needs of its residents. Alexander Hoff, Frank Seehausen and Niloufar Tajeri discuss the optimal floor plans of yesterday and today.

Alexander Hoff is an architectural historian and staff member of Deutsche Welle in Berlin. He studied art history, classical archaeology and European ethnology in Mainz and Berlin, and works as a freelance author, curator and assessor of historical monuments with a focus on post-war modernist architecture.

Frank Seehausen is an architect and art historian who works at the Bayerischen Landesamt für Denkmalpflege (Bavarian State Office for Monument Protection) and as a lecturer, freelance author and curator specialising in architecture and architectural photography. He has released publications on post-war modernist architecture, architectural photography, and the movement and direction of observers in architecture and urban planning.

Niloufar Tajeri is an architect and architectural theorist who lives in Berlin and teaches at the Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur und Stadt (GTAS) at TU Braunschweig. She was a fellow at the Akademie Schloss Solitude and works, among other things, on large post-war residential buildings and their transformation. She is the co-editor of publications including Nights of the Dispossessed. Riots Unbound (2021) and Kleine Eingriffe. Neues Wohnen im Bestand der Nachkriegsmoderne (2016).


This series of events was conceived and organised in cooperation with the magazine ARCH+.

Due to the limited number of participants, we kindly ask you to register for this event. You can register online on the exhibition website wernerduettmann.de two weeks before the event.

Add to iCal or Google Calendar

Diskussion

Mit ARCH+ am Mehringplatz und in der Hedemannstraße: Über Sozialen Wohnungsbau

Diskursiver Rundgang mit Alexander Hoff (Architekturhistoriker), Frank Seehausen (Architekt/Kunsthistoriker) und Niloufar Tajeri (Architektin/Architekturtheoretikerin)

1.550 Wohnungen, ein Altenheim mit 87 Wohneinheiten, ein Jugendzentrum, eine Kita und Gewerbeflächen. Das machte Werner Düttmann 1966–1975 aus der von seinem Lehrer Hans Scharoun entwickelten städtebaulichen Planung, die für den Wiederaufbau des im 2. Weltkrieg zerstörten Mehringplatzes ursprünglich ausschließlich Büro- und Verwaltungsbauten vorsah. Wenige Schritte weiter errichtet er 1973–1975 in der Hedemannstraße eine rund 300 Einheiten  umfassende Wohnanlage, bei deren Gestaltung er zuallererst immer von den Bedürfnissen seiner Bewohner*innen ausging. Alexander Hoff, Frank Seehausen und Niloufar Tajeri über optimale Grundrisse gestern und heute.

Alexander Hoff ist Architekturhistoriker und Mitarbeiter der Deutschen Welle in Berlin. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte, Klassische Archäologie und Europäische Ethnologie in Mainz und Berlin, arbeitet als freier Inventarisator, Autor und Kurator mit Schwerpunkt Architektur der Nachkriegmoderne.

Frank Seehausen ist Architekt und Kunsthistoriker, arbeitet beim Bayerischen Landesamt für Denkmalpflege, als Dozent, freier Autor und Kurator mit den Schwerpunkten Architektur und Architekturfotografie. Veröffentlichungen zur Architektur der Nachkriegsmoderne, Architekturfotografie, Bewegung und Betrachterlenkung in Architektur und Stadtplanung.

Niloufar Tajeri ist Architektin und Architekturtheoretikerin, lebt in Berlin und lehrt am Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur und Stadt (GTAS) der TU Braunschweig. Sie war Stipendiatin der Akademie Schloss Solitude und arbeitet u. a. zu Großwohnbauten der Nachkriegszeit und ihrer Transformation. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von u. a. „Nights of the Dispossessed. Riots Unbound“ (2021) und „Kleine Eingriffe. Neues Wohnen im Bestand der Nachkriegsmoderne“ (2016).


Diese Veranstaltungsreihe wurde in Kooperation mit der Zeitschrift ARCH+ konzipiert und organisiert.

Wegen begrenzter Teilnehmer*innenzahl bitten wir um Anmeldung. Zwei Wochen vor Beginn der Veranstaltung können Sie sich auf der Ausstellungswebseite wernerduettmann.de anmelden.

Hinzufügen zu iCal oder Google Calendar