On view exhibition

Sol Calero: Casa Isadora

With Casa Isadora, the artist Sol Calero (*1982 in Caracas, Venezuela) has built a pavilion in the garden of the Brücke- Museum in the form of a walk-in painting that is open to all visitors. In the design of the pavilion, Calero was inspired by the paintings and woodcuts of the artist group Brücke. She combines her unique visual language, which is informed by Latin American art and popular aesthetics, with references to the artist group’s explorations. The content of Casa Isadora ties in with the MUIM Institute (Modern Instruction in Painting), founded by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and Max Pechstein in Berlin in 1911. Calero values collaborative work and is interested in the art school as a place of unorthodox learning from artists for artists.

This pavilion is one of a series of similar structures. In them, visitors participate by making objects that become part of the architecture’s decoration and equipment. Their objects travel to the next pavilion or location of the house. In this way, the houses and the participants are connected and their collaboration is continually growing. The pavilion itself is also still in the making: Casa Isadora will be successively expanded and supplemented in the coming months within the framework of workshops and events.

Casa Isadora lives from the interactions of its guests, it offers space for group work and spontaneous conversations as well as space for relaxed lingering. We invite you to stay in the installation and to use the space as well as the furniture. We do not want you to injure yourself – please be careful when entering the work of art and handling the seating furniture. We wish you a wonderful stay at Casa Isadora.


Sol Calero was born in 1982 in Caracas, Venezuela. She studied at Universidad Complutense de Madrid and Universidad de La Laguna, Tenerife. For a few years now Calero has been living in Berlin, where together with Christopher Kline she runs the art space Kinderhook & Caracas. Last year she was nominated for the Preis der Nationalgalerie, and her installation won the Audience Prize. Her oeuvre has been exhibited across Europe, at venues including, among others, im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin (2017–2018), Dortmunder Kunstverein (2017), Folkestone Triennial (2017), Kunstpalais Erlangen (2017), Kunsthaus Bregenz (2016–2017), SALTS, Basel (2015), Studio Voltaire, London (2015).

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Sol Calero: Casa Isadora

Mit der Casa Isadora hat die Künstlerin Sol Calero (*1982 in Caracas, Venezuela) im Garten des Brücke-Museums einen Pavillon in Form eines begehbaren Gemäldes errichtet, der allen Besucher*innen offensteht. In der Gestaltung des Pavillons ließ sich Calero von den Gemälden und Holzschnitten der Brücke inspirieren. Caleros einzigartige Bildsprache, die von lateinamerikanischer Kunst und populärer Ästhetik geprägt ist, stellt eine Verbindung mit den künstlerischen Erkundungen der Künstlergruppe her. Inhaltlich knüpft die Casa Isadora an das 1911 von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner und Max Pechstein in Berlin gegründete MUIM-Institut (Moderner Unterricht in Malerei) an. Auch Calero schätzt die Zusammenarbeit und interessiert sich für Kunstschulen als Orte des unorthodoxen Lernens von und für Künstler*innen.

Dieser Pavillon ist Teil einer Serie. Die Besucher*innen wirken an ihrer Entstehung mit, indem sie Objekte herstellen, die zur Dekoration und Ausstattung der Architektur genutzt werden. Diese Elemente können zum nächsten Pavillon weiterwandern. Auf diese Weise entstehen Verbindungen zwischen den Häusern und den Teilnehmer*innen, die Zusammenarbeit wächst stetig. Auch dieser Pavillon ist noch im Werden: Casa Isadora wird in den kommenden Monaten im Rahmen von Workshops und Veranstaltungen sukzessive ausgebaut und ergänzt.

Die Casa Isadora lebt von der Interaktion der Gäste, der Pavillon bietet Raum für Gruppenarbeit und spontane Gespräche aber auch Platz zum entspannten Verweilen. Wir laden Sie dazu ein, in dieser Installation zu verweilen und Raum wie Möbel zu benutzen. Da wir nicht möchten, dass Sie sich verletzen, seien Sie bitte vorsichtig beim Betreten des Pavillons. Gehen Sie bitte sorgsam mit dem Kunstwerk und der Einrichtung um. Wir wünschen Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt in der Casa Isadora.


Sol Calero wurde 1982 in Caracas, Venezuela geboren. Sie studierte an der Universidad Complutense de Madrid und der Universidad de La Laguna, Teneriffa. Calero lebt seit einigen Jahren in Berlin, wo sie gemeinsam mit Christopher Kline den Kunstraum Kinderhook & Caracas betreibt. Im letzten Jahr war sie für den Preis der Nationalgalerie nominiert, ihre Installation erhielt den Publikumspreis. Ihr Werk wurde europaweit ausgestellt, u.a. im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin (2017–2018), Dortmunder Kunstverein (2017), Folkestone Triennial (2017), Kunstpalais Erlangen (2017), Kunsthaus Bregenz (2016–2017), SALTS, Basel (2015), Studio Voltaire, London (2015).